Thursday, August 30, 2018

1970 - Moss, Morgan capture State Fair trophies

John Moss of Iowa City, Iowa

Des Moines, Iowa (August 30, 1970) - John Moss, Iowa City. survived a set of torn pants and a strong challenge from Dean Montgomery, Rock Island, Ill., to take the late model stock car feature event at the Iowa State Fair Sunday afternoon.

Montgomery stayed within a few inches of Moss’ rear bumper for most of the 25-lap race, had momentary leads over the Iowa City driver on a few occasions, but couldn't take control. On his last bid for the lead as the cars came out of the final turn on the last lap, Montgomery pushed too hard and spun into the infield. He regained control but dropped to fourth place at the checkered flag.

Moss had torn his pants getting into the car for the race; and for obvious reasons, received the winner’s trophy while seated in the car.

Sonny Morgan, Blue Earth, Minn., took the 15-lap sportsman feature event, piloting a 1957 Chevrolet owned by Tom Gawley of Irwin. He also won the first heat.

The busiest drive of the day was Don Hoffman, Des Moines, as he jumped back and fourth between the late model and sportsman divisions. In the sportsman competition, he finished third in the heat race and main event, and in late model competition he was second in the heat race and main event.

Bill Holder, Ames, got some unwanted help during the first heat of late model competition. Coming out of number three turn, Dave Chase, Council Bluffs, nosed into Holder’s car. Chase then got a boost from Don Davidson, Des Moines, who just got by Holder without major incident as the Ames drive spun around.

Holder ended up in the infield but came back for a fifth-place finish in the heat race, qualifying him for the feature event. In the main event, he placed 10th.

The sportsman semi-main was the most grueling of the afternoon on the machinery. Of the 16 cars eligible for the event, four scratched before the race started.

Results –

Late Model –

Trophy Dash: Chris Maurer, Colfax
First Heat: John Moss, Iowa City
Second Heat: Dean Montgomery, Rock Island, Ill.
Semi-Main: Bob Hilmer, Dysart
1. John Moss
2. Don Hoffman, Des Moines
3. Stan Stover, Reinbeck
4. Dean Montgomery
5. Dave Chase, Council Bluffs
6. Jim Havill, Le Claire
7. Danny Clements, Rhodes
8. Dick Oldham, Des Moines
9. Bob Hilmer
10. Shorty Selsor, Des Moines

Sportsman –

First Heat: Sonny Morgan, Blue Earth, Minn.
Second Heat: Larry Embrey, Grimes
Semi-Main: Bob Henry, Madrid
1. Sonny Morgan
2. Phil Reece, Des Moines
3. Don Hoffman, Des Moines
4. Larry Embrey
5. Bob Bonzer, Liscomb
6. Ken Davidson, Des Moines
7. Jerry Roberts, Prairie City
8. Arlo Becker, Atkins

No comments:

Post a Comment