Saturday, July 20, 2019

1991 – Hill First at Freeport Busch All Star 50

Freeport, Ill. (July 20, 1991) – After coming close a number of times, Bob Hill finally captured a NASCAR Bush All Star Tour feature winning the 50-lap A-main Saturday night at Freeport Raceway Park.

Hill, who had posted three second-place finishes, three thirds and a fourth in nine starts prior to Freeport, inherited the lead on lap 11 when a spinning car collected race leaders Steve Kosiski and Johnny Saathoff.

Kosiski later returned to the action and limped home to a 17th-place finish.

Chasing down Hill in the final laps and finishing a close second was Willy Kraft. Rollie Frink took third followed by Ray Guss Jr. and Gary Webb.

“We’ve been running the top-five the last five or six races and I just figured sooner or later the breaks have got to come our way and we’re going to get one,” said Hill.

Hill was the fastest qualifier for the night despite the fact that his car’s power steering broke right before his qualifying run.

Results –

1. Bob Hill, Story City, Iowa
2. Willy Kraft, Lakefield, Minn.
3. Rollie Frink, Davenport, Iowa
4. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.
5. Gary Webb, Davenport, Iowa
6. Ed Kosiski, Omaha
7. Joe Kosiski, Omaha
8. Jerry Wancewicz, Omaha
9. Tom Svoboda, David City, Neb.
10.Tom Schony, Freeport
11.Randy McGraw, Marshall, Mo.
12.Sonny Smyser, Lancaster, Mo.
13.Jim Swank, Hannibal, Mo.
14.Steve Lurvey, Dousman, Wis.
15.Tom Guithues, Lilly Lake, Ill.
16.Chuck Rankin, Kansas City
17.Steve Kosiski, Omaha
18.Mel Abels, Freeport
19.Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb.
20.Bob Pistole
21.Jim Jeffrey, Freeport
22.Ernie Lilly, Fulton, Ill.
23.Jay Johnson, Middletown, Iowa
24.Ted Beaman, Council Bluffs, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment