Wednesday, July 24, 2019

1982 – Swindell Rolls to Accident-Marred Nationals Win

Sammy Swindell 

Sedalia, Mo. (July 24, 1982) - Sammy Swindell of Memphis, Tenn. And the Nance Racing Team left the Missouri Sprint Car Nationals $6,000 richer Saturday night after winning the 30-lap World of Outlaw Sprint Car feature at the Missouri State Fairgrounds. Swindell’s victory, however, was shrouded by a serious accident in the third heat race.

At the start of the third heat race, Danny Smith, Hendersonville, Tenn., and Bobby Nagle Jr., Belleville, Ill., came together in turn one with Smith rolling violently on the outside guard rail and Nagle going over the rail. Both drivers were taken to Bothwell Hospital and then transferred to the University of Missouri Health Sciences Center in Columbia.

Smith suffered a broken back and Nagel suffered serious head injuries. When the race was restarted, Joe McCarthy of El Paso, Tex. edged Roger Wright of Sugar Creek, Mo., at the finish line for the win.

Swindell, who started the feature in the second row outside position, by virtue of his win Friday night, was in third place at the end of the first lap behind Doug Wolfgang, Sioux Falls, S.D., and Rick Unger, Memphis. Swindell passed Unger on lap 4 and moved around Wolfgang for the lead on lap 8.

The red flag came out of lap 12 when Wolfgang got too high in the loose dirt in turn two and rolled his car.

From that point on, it was Swindell’s race to the checkered flag of victory. Steve
Kinser, Bloomington, Ind., got by Unger on the lap 18 and finished second. Unger held on for third with Brad Doty, Indiana, Pa., and Ron Shuman, Mesa, Ariz., rounding out the top five.

Kinser, who had fast time of the evening, with a clocking of 20.410 seconds on the half mile oval, won the first heat race.

Jeff Swindell, Memphis, Tenn., won the second heat but was moved back two positions for passing under the yellow flag. Thus, Shane Carson, Oklahoma City, Okla., was given credit for the win.

Jack Hewitt, Troy, Ohio, was the winner of the fourth heat race.

The semi-feature saw Roger Rager, Mound, Minn., roll his car in turn four on the first lap. The red flag came out again on lap five when a four-car pileup in turn four saw Curt Grogan, Kansas City go over.

Terry Smith, Raytown, passed Sonny Smyser, Lancaster, Mo., on lap 10 of the 12-lap race for the win.

Results –

1. Sammy Swindell
2. Steve Kinser
3. Rick Unger
4. Brad Doty
5. Ron Shuman
6. Bobby Allen
7. Shane Carson
8. Jeff Swindell
9. Ken Schrader
10.Chuck Gurney
11.Tom Corbin
12.Rick Howard
13.Terry Smith
14.Tim Gee
15.Joe McCarthy
16.Danny Lasoski
17.Sonny Smyser
18.Roger Wright
19.Bobby Layne
20.David Dwyer
21.Jack Hewitt
22.Doug Wolfgang
23.Pat McKeehan

No comments:

Post a Comment