Sunday, July 7, 2019

1967 – Weld Wins Lakeside Sprint

Greg Weld

Kansas City, Kan. (July 7, 1967) -Greg Weld nipped Rollie Beale in a race as close as their battle for the USAC sprint car leadership to the delight of 6,500 at Lakeside Stadium on Friday night.

Weld jumped into the lead on the first lap. He walked away from polesitter Bruce Walkup from his outside front row starting position. After 12 laps his lead seemed insurmountable. On lap 13, a five-car crash brought the race to a halt until the track was cleared. No one was injured.

On the restart, Beale inherited second-place from Walkup who retired with an oil leak. Beale immediately applied pressure on Weld and kept it on for the rest of the 30-lap race.

Weld was equal to the challenge and held off his nearest competitor for the USAC sprint championship. It was his first victory before the home folks in three tries before his hometown crowd.

A track which was hard and slick from time trials to the finish made racing a hairy business. A lot of iron was bent but no drivers were injured.

Frank Secrist was involved in the most spectacular wreck, flipping twice in mid-air on the first lap of the consolation. He received a cut on his left hand but was otherwise alright.

Only seven of the 14 starters finished the feature with three, Mickey Shaw, Wib Spalding and Bobby Unser, retiring due to the lap 13 crash. The other dropouts were due to mechanical trouble.

Results –

Time trials – Mike Mosley (23.26)
Heat #1 – Bruce Walkup
Heat #2 – Mike Mosley
Heat #3 – George Snider
Consolation – Bobby Unser
Feature –

1. Greg Weld
2. Rollie Beale
3. Chuck Booth
4. Sam Sessions
5. Mike Mosley
6. Dick Kelm
7. George Snider
8. Dale Reed
9. Bill Puterbaugh
10. Bruce Walkup
11. Mickey Shaw
12. Wib Spalding
13. Bobby Unser
14. Johnny Rutherford

No comments:

Post a Comment