Friday, August 18, 2023

1984 – Davis Takes Title in ‘Jackson Nationals’

Bobby Davis Jr. won the sixth annual Jackson Nationals at Jackson VFW Speedway. Miss Jackson Speedway Sue Wiskus makes the trophy presentation while flagman Don Green presents the checkered flag. – Jackson Racing Hall of Fame Photo

Jackson, Minn. (August 8, 1984) – Bobby Davis Jr. of Memphis, Tenn., won the sixth annual Jackson Nationals Saturday night at Jackson VFW Speedway.

Brad Doty of Wooster, Ohio, took the lead at the drop of the green with Danny Smith of Danville, Ill., in second. Davis started the feature on the inside of the second row and by mid-point in the 30-lap main event, had taken over the top spot.

Several yellow flags interrupted the action but there were no injuries.

When it was all over, Davis claimed the $6,000 top prize with Smith in second, John Stevenson of St. Paul third, and Jimmy Sills of Sacramento, Calif., fourth.

Doty posted a wire-to-wire victory in the 6-lap trophy dash with Danny smith second and Davis third,

The C-feature was won by Keith Frantsen of Windom with John McCoy of Knoxville, Iowa, second and Jon Barger of Wentworth, S.D., third.

The B-feature was won by Linus Mack of East Grand Forks over Bobby Houseman of Estherville, Iowa, and Randy Droescher of Hader, Neb.

Results –

1. Bobby Davis Jr., Memphis, Tenn.
2. Danny Smith, Danville, Ill.
3. John Stevenson, St. Paul
4. Jimmy Sills, Sacramento, Calif.
5. Rick Ferkel, Tiffin, Ohio
6. Randy Smith, Norwalk, Iowa
7. Linus Mack, East Grand Forks
8. Scott Ritchhart, Lincoln, Ill.
9. Rich Brahmer, Wisner, Neb.
10.Rocky Hodges, Des Moines

No comments:

Post a Comment