Sunday, August 13, 2023

1972 – Records Fall as Sutcliffe Wins at Eldon

Dick Sutcliffe won the 20-lap IMCA sprint car feature at the Wapello County Fairgrounds. 

Eldon, Iowa (August 13, 1972) – The grandstands were full of enthusiastic race fans as record after record fell during the IMCA sprint cars appearance at the Wapello County Fairgrounds on Sunday afternoon.

Dick Sutcliffe of Kansas City won the IMCA sprint car feature setting new track records for 20 laps at 8 minutes and 34 seconds and for 25 laps at 10 minutes and 43 seconds. Sutcliffe took the lead from Buzz Rose of Manhattan Beach, Calif., on lap 9 as they rounded turn four.

Gene Gennetten of Gladstone, Mo., worked his way from his eighth starting spot to really put the pressure on Rose for second. Gennetten’s ambitions were cut short when his oil filter broke on lap 17 spewing oil all over the car, necessitating a hasty exit and eliminating him from the contest.

Ron Perkins of Des Moines took the first heat in the record time of 3 minutes and 23 seconds against the old record of 3 minutes and 30 seconds set by Cliff Blundy of Galesburg, Ill., last year.

The second heat went to Gennetten with David James of Garland, Tex., winning the third heat.

Sutcliffe bested Chuck Amati’s year-old record (2 minutes, 10 seconds) in the STP trophy dash by posting a 5-lap time of 2 minutes and 8 seconds.

The 10-lap consolation race set a new record as well as Earl Wagner of Pleasantville, Iowa, sped around the half-mile in 4 minutes and 19 seconds.

Results –

Trophy Dash – Dick Sutcliffe, Kansas City
Heat #1 – Ron Perkins, Des Moines
Heat #2 – Gene Gennetten, Gladstone, Mo.
Heat #3 – David James, Garland, Tex.
Consolation – Earl Wagner, Pleasantville, Iowa
Feature –
1. Dick Sutcliffe
2. Buzz Rose, Manhattan Beach, Calif.
3. Ron Perkin
4. Del Schmidt, Topeka, Kan.
5. Ray Lee Goodwin, Kansas City
6. Ron Larson, White Bear Lake, Minn.
7. Thad Dosher, Topeka, Kan.
8. Chuck Amati, Greenfield, Tenn.
9. Dave Ross, Jetmore, Kan.
10.Steve Schultz, Chillicothe, Mo.

No comments:

Post a Comment