Friday, August 18, 2023

1973 - McDonough Holds Off Blankenship before 11,000

Tim McDonough

Des Moines, Iowa (August 18, 1973) - Tim McDonough said his victory in the late model stock car feature at the State Fairgrounds Saturday night was the “the longest 25 laps I’ve ever drove.”

But the 20-year-old son of veteran Bill McDonough, the number two driver in the late model standings, was quite happy with his first “triumph in Iowa” before an estimated 11,000 fans.

“This is the third time I have raced at the Fairgrounds,” the young McDonough said. “I’ve raced at Eldon twice after getting a late start this season.”

He took the lead on the second lap and was in charge the rest of the way in his 1968 Chevelle.

The mechanical engineering student at Kirkwood Junior College in Cedar Rapids got a lot of pressure from Lem Blankenship of Keokuk in the late stages of the race - particularly on the last lap.

Blankenship, driving a 1972 Monte Carlo, tried to pass Tim on the 23rd lap, but failed. He was right behind the rear bumper of Tim's car throughout the last lap.

There were three yellow flags during the race and McDonough said he “was really getting excited.”

“The restarts goofed me up,” he said. “I wasn’t driving like I should have been.”

McDonough said he won a feature race at Huron, S.D., last year.

Del McDowell of Ames was the first leader in the race, McDonough passed him in the second turn on the second lap.

Dave Chase of Council Bluffs, the third-place finisher in a 1973 Chevelle, ran second until Don Hoffman of Des Moines and Blankenship passed him on the 15th lap. Chase went back to third position on the 20th lap. Hoffman finished fourth.

Jim Welshons of Indianola captured the 15-lap sportsman feature in a 1957 Chevy. Matt Moro and Billy Geil, both of Des Moines, finished second and third, respectively.

Results –

1. Tim McDonough, Cedar Rapids
2. Lem Blankenship, Keokuk
3. Dave Chase, Council Bluffs
4. Don Hoffman, Des Moines
5. Cal Swanson, Reinbeck
6. Bill McDonough, Cedar Rapids
7. Stan Stover, Reinbeck
8. George Barton, Ankeny
9. Mike Brooks, Knoxville
10.John Beaman, Council Bluffs
11.Del McDowell, Ames
12.Dave Bedard, LaPorte City
13.Glen McKeighan, Council Bluffs
14.Marvin Korns, Brooklyn
15.Ken Davidson, Des Moines

No comments:

Post a Comment