Thursday, August 3, 2023

1979 - Schill Survives, Wins Sycamore FASTRAK Go


Promoter Gene Marmor congratulates Al Schill after the Franklin, Wis., driver won the FASTRAK Clay Classic at Sycamore Speedway. - Don Bain Photo

Sycamore, Ill. (August 3, 1979) – Al Schill of Franklin, Wis., made his first appearance at Sycamore Speedway a memorable one, Friday night, by setting fast time in qualifying and then winning the 50-lap feature to highlight Gene Marmor’s FASTRAK Clay Classic.

Jim O’Conner, Denny Falkos, Dick Potts, and James Hebner rounded out the top-five finishers in the main event, which saw 12 of the contest’s 19 starters on the sidelines when Schill took the checkered flag.

Among the leading contenders who were forced out of action while running near the front of the field were Al Johnson, Mike Melius, and Arnie Gardner.

Whitey Harris, who captured the first FASTRAK special here on June 21, was also plagued by mechanical issues, which forced him to the pits early in the event. Harris managed to return but logged only enough laps to be credited with 15th place in the official finish.

Another pre-race favorite, Tony Izzo, was unable to start the feature, after blowing an engine in his racer during the heat race. Earlier, Izzo had captured the 6-lap trophy dash.

Craig Jacobs captured the 20-lap semi-feature while heat wins went to Bill Hay, Jim O’Conner, Jim Thruman, and Art Fehrman.

Results –

1. Al Schill, Franklin, Wis.
2. Jim O’Conner, Kankakee
3. Denny Falkos, Aurora
4. Dick Potts Morocco, Ind.
5. James Hebner, Fairbury
6. Rich Harlan, Flanagan
7. Bill Hay, Sikeston, Mo.
8. Terry Huizel, Freeport
9. Frank Claeyssen, Cherry Valley
10.Arnie Gardner, Batavia

No comments:

Post a Comment