Friday, August 25, 2023

1972 – Lead Theft Keys Moore’s Fair Win

Dale Moore accepts his trophy from Jeanne Sue Thurman, 1972 Missouri State Fair Queen after capturing the Missouri Sportsman championship at Sedalia. Looking in on the presentation is announcer Jimmy Glenn (left) and flagman Al Hall (right). 

Sedalia, Mo. (August 25, 1972) – Dale Moore won Friday night’s B-modified sportsman feature at the Missouri State Fairgrounds, grabbing the lead from Jay Lyle of Warrensburg on the 10th lap on his way to the 25-lap victory.

Moore, a veteran Kansas City modified driver, started on the outside pole position on the second row jumped into second the green flag fell.

However, before the first lap could be completed, Barney Bauernfeind, Kansas City, spun out between turns three and four. That brought out the yellow flag and caused a restart. Dick Buso and Rick Darling tangled in the backstretch on the restart, bringing out the yellow again.

On the restart George Lasoski, Dover, Mo., spun going into the first turn from his outside front row position, bringing out the third and final yellow flag of the race. Lasoski rejoined the field and managed to finish ninth.

But the glory belonged to Moore in his #71 Chevrolet-powered racer. He held off repeated threats from Lyle in the 25-lap battle. Lyle tried both high and low but was not able to regain the lead after Moore found the right track and the lead on the 10th trip around the half-mile dirt track.

Ray Lee Goodwin, Kansas City, ran a close third, but was never able to seriously challenge Moore. Eddie Leavitt, started on the outside of the 12th row in the 25-car field, managed a distant fourth behind the three front-runners. Cliff Woodward, Kansas City, captured fifth.

Rounding out the top 10 were Gene Dye, Auxvasse, Mo., Ralph Parkinson. Jr., Kansas City, Bob Mills, Parkville. Mo., Lasoski, and Bauernfeind.

Although there were a lot of yellow flags during the program. little equipment was damaged However, in the first 8-lap heat race. John Zerbe, Kansas City, spun his racer between the first and second turns. Martin Godsy, Jefferson City, could not avoid Zerbe, went over one of his tires and flipped two times. The front end of Godsy’s car was torn off, but there were no injuries.

The yellow flag came out seven times in the 15-lap consolation feature for the non-money winners in the heats. That race was finally won by Roy Comstock of Versailles. Craig Bucklew, Columbia, and Marvin Morales, the 1971 winner of the B-modified championship, captured third eat wins were registered by Lyle, Lasoski, Goodwin, Moore and Darling

One record was established that came in the third heat, which was won by Goodwin in a time of 3 minutes and 20 seconds. There was no previous 8-lap record.

For his win, Moore collected $400 by winning the feature. The total purse for the race was $2,500.

Results –

Heat #1 – Jay Lyle, Warrensburg, Mo.
Heat #2 – George Lasoski, Dover, Mo.
Heat #3 – Ray Lee Goodwin, Kansas City
Heat #4 – Dale Moore, Kansas City
Heat #5 – Rick Darling, Marshall, Mo.
Consolation – Roy Comstock, Versailles, Mo.
Feature –
1. Roy Moore
2. Jay Lyle
3. Ray Lee Goodwin
4. Eddie Leavitt, Kearney, Mo.
5. Cliff Woodward, Kansas City
6. Gene Dye, Auxvasse, Mo.
7. Ralph Parkinson Jr., Kansas City
8. Bob Mills, Parkville, Mo.
9. George Lasoski
10.Barney Bauernfeind, Kansas City

No comments:

Post a Comment