Saturday, August 12, 2023

1978 – Connolly, Safely, Bone tops at Jones County Fair

John Connolly (center) won the late model feature at the Jones County Fair in Monticello. Joining Connolly in victory lane are flagman Bill Beckman (left) and promoter Arlo Becker (right).

Monticello, Iowa (August 12, 1978) – The Jones County Fair hosted some exciting racing action as late model, sportsman, altered street stock, and unaltered street stocks took to the half-mile dirt oval on Saturday afternoon.

In late model action, John Connolly of Delhi won both his heat and the 20-lap feature.

Chuck Martelle of Dubuque made the sweep in the sportsman class, winning both his heat and feature.

In altered street stock, Chopper Safely of Waubeek took the feature event after placing second in of the division’s two heats.

Hometown favorite Mark Bone was the unaltered street stock feature winner. Bone also won his heat race.

A crowd of well over 8,000 was on hand to watch the action.

Results –

Late Model –

Heat #1 – John Connolly, Delhi
Heat #2 - John Engelkens, Morrison, Ill.
Feature –
1. John Connolly
2. John Engelkens
3. Phil Larson, Iowa City
4. John Ward, Bernard
5. Duke Jackson, Clinton
6. Dale Welsh, Cedar Rapids
7. Jim Stodola, Shellsburg
8. Russ Lyman, Cedar Rapids
9. Bob Schulte, Delhi

Sportsman –

Heat #1 – Chuck Martelle, Dubuque
Heat #2 – John Thurman, Muscatine
Feature –
1. Chuck Martelle
2. Chuck Lukemyre, Tipton
3. Gary Dugan, Cedar Rapids
4. Ron Becker, Norway
5. Bob Jaeger, Dubuque
6. Gus Hughes, Monticello
7. Ron Worthen, Anamosa
8. Steve Johnson, Low Moor
9. John Thurman

Altered Street Stock –

Heat #1 – Jerry Naylor, Scotch Grove
Heat #2 – Jay Iben, Monticello
Feature –
1. Chopper Safely, Waubeek
2. Jay Iben
3. Smoke Wilson, Cedar Rapids
4. Bill Murray, Hopkinton
5. Richard Barker, Dubuque
6. David Wilson, Cedar Rapids
7. Joe Eberhart,
8. Chuck Martin, Monticello
9. Tom Rudder, Stanley
10.Steve Jenkins, Anamosa

Unaltered Street Stock –

Heat #1- Bob Bossard, Monticello
Heat #2 – Mark Bone, Monticello
Heat 3 – Doug Hueber, Delhi
Heat #4 – Jim Schmidt, Dyersville
Consolation – Tom Thurston, Dubuque
Feature –
1. Mark Bone
2. Rick Bossard, Monticello
3. Bob Bossard, Monticello
4. Monty Ohrt, Tipton
5. Doug Hueber
6. Brian Merritt, Anamosa
7. John Stadmueller, Monticello
8. Randy Harm, Monticello
9. Bill Takes, Monticello
10.Steve Hendricks, Mount Auburn

No comments:

Post a Comment