Wednesday, August 30, 2023

1969 - Sutcliffe Tops Lincoln Sprints

Nebraska State Fair secretary Henry Brandt presents the trophy to Dick Sutcliffe after his victory in the 25-lap IMCA sprint car feature win. IMCA's Woody Brinkman holds the checkers. 

Lincoln, Neb. (August 30, 1969) – Dick Sutcliffe was a handy winner in the Nebraska State Fair’s opening day of IMCA sprint car racing on Saturday, taking not only the STP trophy dash and heat, but the 25-lap feature as well.

Sutcliffe started on the second row in the feature, got past Ron Perkins of Bethalto, Ill., on lap 8, and took command after that, building a straightaway lead. The Greenwood, Mo., ace would win by a comfortable margin over second-place Bill Utz of Sedalia, Mo., and Lloyd Beckman of Lincoln.

Sutcliffe showcased his superiority early when he moved from third to first past Ken Gritz of Lincoln and Beckman to win the first heat. And in the 5-lap trophy dash, he led Perkins and fast qualifier Jerry Blundy of Galesburg, Ill., all the way.

Other race winners were Tom Bigelow of Whitewater, Wis., in the second heat and Don Mack of East Grand Forks, Minn., in the third heat. Jerry Blundy won the 10-lap consolation.

Results –

1. Dick Sutcliffe, Greenwood, Neb.
2. Bill Utz, Sedalia, Mo.
3. Lloyd Beckman, Lincoln, Neb.
4. Jay Woodside, Kansas City
5. Thad Dosher, Wichita, Kan.
6. John Stevenson, St. Paul, Minn.
7. Darl Harrison, Tiffin, Ohio
8. Ralph Blackett, Des Moines
9. Ken Gritz, Lincoln, Neb.

No comments:

Post a Comment