Wednesday, May 1, 2019

1976 – Wolfgang Captures Knoxville Super Opener

Doug Wolfgang

Knoxville, Iowa (May 1, 1976) – Doug Wolfgang, a 23-year-old speedster from Lincoln, Neb., was the fastest qualifier, finished second in the trophy dash, won the fourth heat, and then capped off a great night by winning the 25-lap feature a super sprint car racing opened the season at the Marion County Fairgrounds on Saturday night.

“It was my first feature win ever,” a happy Wolfgang exclaimed after many congratulations from well-wishers and relatives.

“Boy, it was a lot of fun,” he added. “The car was really working beautifully.” The Chevrolet-powered sprinter is owned by Dave Van Patten from Des Moines. And Des Moines is where he’ll call home as he was planning on relocating from Lincoln to Des Moines first thing on Sunday morning.

Wolfgang earned $450 for the triumph. Bill Mellenberndt of Sioux Falls, S.D., was second followed by Dick Morris of Sioux City, Iowa. Lenard McCarl of Des Moines, who started on the pole, took fourth and Eddie Leavitt of Kearney, Mo., rounded out the top five.

Leavitt won several features at the fairgrounds last year including the super modified national championship in August. 

McCarl led the first six laps of the feature before Wolfgang slid by him on the backstretch to take the lead.

Results –

Fast qualifier – Doug Wolfgang (21.268)
Trophy dash – Lenard McCarl
Heat #1 – Gary Johnson
Heat #2 – Dennis Olson
Heat #3 – Dick Sutcliffe
Heat #4 – Doug Wolfgang
Consolation – Lenard McCarl
Feature –
1. Doug Wolfgang
2. Bill Mellenberndt
3. Dick Morris
4. Lenard McCarl
5. Eddie Leavitt
6. Ron Milton
7. Dick Sutcliffe
8. Don Maxwell
9. Bill Robison
10. Mike Brooks
11. Gary Dunkle
12. Mike Thomas
13. Stacy Redmond
14. Gary Johnson
15. Dennis Olson

No comments:

Post a Comment