Friday, May 10, 2019

1970 - Ward Cops Capital 'Race of Champions'

Bobby Ward

Jefferson City, Mo. (May 10, 1970) – Bobby Ward, the Arkansas Traveler from Conway, took the checker ahead of Bill Utz of Sedalia, Mo., at the Race of Champions held at Capital Speedway near Jefferson City on Sunday.

The race, which was postponed last October due to rain, paid a total of $3,500 in prize money.

Ward, driving the Alamo Mobile Homes Special from Amarillo, Tex., jumped from his outside pole position on the first lap and was never headed in the 20-lap main event.

The speedy Arkansas driver took home the first-place money of $750.

For Utz, it was also a profitable day. He took first in the trophy dash, first in his heat race, as well as finishing second in the feature.

With Sunday's winnings, Utz, piloting the Dean Hathman sprinter, added to the Friday night's winnings he collected at the Granite City, Ill., track.

There he finished again second in the feature, behind Wib Spalding, second in the trophy dash, second in his heat and set the nights' fast time.

Heat races were won Sunday by Ralph Henson, another Arkansas driver, Gene Gennetten of Kansas City, and also Utz and Ward.

In the 8-lap consolation race for non-money winners, Windsor, Missouri’s Jerry McCown won first place.

The 15-lap semi-feature was won by Ralph Henson, followed by Tiger Bob Williams of Kansas City and Ralph Parkinson Jr., of Wichita Falls, Tex.

Following Ward and Utz across the finish line in the feature event were Tom Corbin of Carrollton, Mo., Roy Hibbard of Marshall, Mo., and Flea Atkin of Jefferson City.

A total of 48 cars timed in for the day’s activity.

Results –

Time trials – Roy Hibbard, Marshall, Mo. (20.64)
Trophy dash – Bill Utz, Sedalia, Mo.
Heat #1 – Ralph Henson, Little Rock, Ark.
Heat #2 – Bill Utz
Heat #3 – Bobby Ward, Conway, Ark.
Heat #4 – Gene Gennetten, Kansas City
Consolation – Jerry McCown, Windsor, Mo.
Semi-main – Ralph Henson
Feature –
1. Bobby Ward
2. Bill Utz
3. Tom Corbin Carrollton, Mo.
4. Roy Hibbard, Marshall, Mo.
5. Jerry Atkins, Jefferson City, Mo.
6. Wib Spalding, Granite City, Ill.
7. Jerry Johnson, Utica, Kan.
8. Dale Moore
9. Jay Lyle, Warrensburg, Mo.
10. Johnny Babb, Ottumwa, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment