Tuesday, May 14, 2019

1975 – Hansen Wins Second at Oskaloosa

Oskaloosa, Iowa (May 14, 1975) - Curt Hansen of Dike took advantage of Don Hoffman's blown engine early in the race then held off a hard charge from the remainder of the field to win his second late model stock car feature at the Southern Iowa Speedway in a bumper to bumper duel Wednesday night.

Starting on the pole position, Hoffman led the first nine laps before his engine let go, paving the way for Hansen's victory and his hold on the point lead.

Hansen then fended off Joe Merryfield of Des Moines for the win amid a flurry of red flags and restarts as the entire field remained in tight formation due to three feature restarts.

Results –

First Heat: Don Hoffman, Des Moines
Second Heat: Johnny Babb, Ottumwa
Third Heat: Curt Hansen, Dike
Semi-Main: Fred Horn, Marion
1. Curt Hansen
2. Joe Merryfield, Des Moines
3. Phil Reece, Des Moines
4. Mel Morris, West Liberty
5. Karl Sanger, Waterloo
6. Bob Bonzer, Liscomb
7. Fred Horn
8. Ed Sanger, Waterloo
9. Verlin Eaker, Cedar Rapids
10. Johnny Babb

No comments:

Post a Comment