Wednesday, August 10, 2016

1968 – Goodwin Succeeds Dosher as National Super Modified Champ

1968 Knoxville Nationals champ Ray Lee Goodwin receives congratulations from '63 winner Greg Weld. 

Knoxville, Iowa (August 10, 1968) – Hard-driving Ray Lee Goodwin of Kansas City, Mo., got a head start on the field and never let up in winning the eighth annual National Super Modified Championships here at the Marion County Fairgrounds on Saturday night.

The 28-year-old veteran held the pole position with his fast time of 21.26 seconds on the semi-banked half-mile dirt oval set on Thursday night.

He yielded his lofty spot only on the first lap when Earl Wagner of Pleasantville, Iowa, managed to sprint ahead – but not for long. Goodwin regained the top spot at the start of lap #2 and was never headed again.

The victory earned Goodwin a first prize check of $3,000 plus an additional $290 in lap money. The total purse for the three night was $20,000.

Wagner, experiencing steering and handling problems, could do no better than third. Veteran Galesburg, Illinois, pilot Jerry Blundy moved steadily through the pack to grab runner-up honors and $2,000 in purse money.

Lloyd Beckman of Lincoln, Neb., gave Goodwin his only serious threat after Wagner’s but Beckman’s car threw a rod forcing him into the pits on lap 20.

Defending champion Thad Dosher of Topeka, Kan., came in 21st place in the 22-car field.

Ken Gritz of Lincoln, Neb., won the “B” Main worth $500 to the winner. The consolation was won by Don Hewitt of Troy, Ohio.

More than 15,000 race fans watched the three-day event.

Results –

Heat #1 – Jerry Blundy, Galesburg, Ill.
Heat #2 – Earl Wagner, Pleasantville, Iowa
Heat #3 – Dick Sutcliffe, Kansas City, Mo.
Heat #4– Lloyd Beckman, Lincoln, Neb.
Heat #5– Jay Woodside, Kansas City, Mo.
Consolation – Don Hewitt, Troy, Ohio
B Main – Ken Gritz. Lincoln, Neb.
Feature –
1. Ray Lee Goodwin, Kansas City, Mo.
2. Jerry Blundy
3. Earl Wagner
4. Joe Saldana, Lincoln, Neb.
5. Gene Gennetten, Gladstone, Mo.
6. Dick Sutcliffe
7. Bob Williams, Kansas City, Mo.
8. Jay Woodside
9. Roy Hibbard, Marshall, Mo.
10. Larry Cannon, Danville, Ill.
11. Russ Hibbard, Marshall, Mo.
12. Bill Utz, Sedalia, Mo.
13. Stan Borofsky, Kansas City, Mo.
14. Hank Smith, Mount Ayr, Iowa
15. Johnny Babb, Ottumwa, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment