Saturday, September 23, 2023

1984 – Osborn Nets ‘Corn Belt Classic’ Victory

Denny Osborn won the Corn Belt Classic at Farley Speedway. Kevin McLane presents the checkers while Becky Weinard makes the trophy presentation. – Debbie Bohr Photo

Farley, Iowa (September 23, 1984) – Denny Osborn of Cedar Falls won the late model feature race in the Corn Belt Classic at Farley Speedway on Sunday evening.

The event had been scheduled for Friday and Saturday nights, but the second day of the program was moved to Sunday after rain washed out the Saturday portion of the show.

Roger Dolan of Lisbon took a commanding lead in the late model headliner, but his engine suffered a dropped valve after only five laps and Scott Sells of Waverly took over. Sells led until lap 31 when his engine went up in flames. Osborn inherited the top spot and led the remaining nine laps to seal the victory – worth $1,000.

Gary Crawford and Curt Martin, both of Independence, came across the finish line behind Osborn, finishing second and third, respectively. Ken Walton of Viola and Scott Braun of Cedar Falls rounded out the top-five.

During Friday’s action, Martin was the winner of the 20-lap feature with Dolan coming in second.

Sells was the quick timer at 21.825 seconds, while late model heats were won by Martin, Rick Wendling of Hazelton, Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown, and Lynn Idler of Ionia.

In the street stock feature, Gus Hughes of Monticello led all the way but was disqualified for running an aluminum intake on his engine. That gave the feature win to Ricky Hurst of Dubuque.

Results –

1. Denny Osborn, Cedar Falls
2. Gary Crawford, Independence
3. Curt Martin, Independence
4. Ken Walton, Viola
5. Scott Braun, Cedar Falls
6. Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids
7. Denny Ansel, Dubuque
8. Greg Hunter, Independence
9. Harley McWilliams, Platteville, Wis.
10.Bob Campbell, Dubuque
11.Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls
12.Dick Barker, Dubuque
13.Jim Burbridge, Delhi
14.Mike Geltz, Dubuque
15.Martin Bennett, Des Moines
16.Scott Sells, Waverly
17.Roger Bruggeman, Dubuque
18.Greg Kastli, Waterloo
19.Bruce Freiburger, Dubuque
20.Steve Spahr, Monticello

No comments:

Post a Comment