Tuesday, September 26, 2023

1965 – Moss Cops West Liberty Title


John Moss

West Liberty, Iowa (September 26, 1965) – “Big” John Moss of Iowa City led 49 of 50 laps to capture the season’s championship jalopy feature at the West Liberty Fairgrounds on Sunday.

The program ended the Mississippi Valley Speed Club’s events for the year.

Four area drivers were among the top-six finishers, with John Mullink of West Liberty taking second, Stan Crooks of Letts coming home in fourth, Ron Hemsted of Lone Tree finishing in fifth and Mel Morris of West Liberty grabbing sixth.

Morris rolled his car during the race but continued in competition after a restart. Chuck DeMeyer of Washington held fifth place until a spinout on the last lap.

Point champion Mark Mosier of Washington pulled his machine from the track with six laps remaining with mechanical issues. Neil Mellenger of Burlington rolled his car during hot laps. He suffered a gigantic black eye.

Results –

Trophy dash – Dick Kleindolph, Muscatine
Heat #1 – George Bishop, Muscatine
Heat #2 – Ron Hemsted, Lone Tree
Heat #3 – Dick McClure, Burlington
Consolation – Bob Smith, Mount Pleasant
Feature –
1. John Moss, Iowa City
2. John Mullink, West Liberty
3. Bob Ensminger, Burlington
4. Stan Crooks, Letts
5. Ron Hemsted, Lone Tree
6. Mel Morris, West Liberty

No comments:

Post a Comment