Monday, September 25, 2023

1983 - Fifth NSTC Victory for Shear at Rockford

Joe Shear won his fifth National Short Track Championship late model feature at Rockford Speedway. Promoter Hugh and Jody Deery present the winner's wreath and trophy. – Russ Lake Photo

Rockford, Ill. (September 25, 1983) – Joe Shear grabbed the lead on the 40th circuit and outran Tom Reffner and Dick Trickle to capture the National Short Track Championship 200-lap super late model feature for his fifth win in the 18th running of the event Sunday afternoon at Rockford Speedway.

Shear, who started the event on the outside of the third row, worked his way into third place behind frontrunning Steve Murgic and Conrad Morgan on lap 8. Six laps later, the Beloit, Wis., pilot powered by Morgan to claim second.

Murgic maintained the top spot until the 40th circuit when Shear took command on the backstretch. Tom Reffner maneuvered past Murgic on the same lap to take over the second spot.

Shear and Reffner would gradually break away from the rest of the field, building up a huge advantage until the yellow flag waved for the mandatory pit stop on lap 103.

On the restart, Shear again took the lead with Reffner in second, Murgic held on to third, ahead of a fast-closing Dick Trickle. Trickle would move into third three laps later and by lap 121, was closing hard and fast on Reffner.

For the remainder of the race, Shear fought off Reffner while Trickle made every attempt to get around the two pacesetters. The trio raced in a tight formation until the checkered fell with Shear a car-length ahead of Reffner. Trickle settled for third with Ted Musgrave and Alan Kulwicki rounding out the top five.

“It was tough,” said Shear, who had won annual event more than any other driver. “You don’t make a mistake or it’s all over.”

Results –

1. Joe Shear, Beloit, Wis.
2. Tom Reffner, Rudolph, Wis.
3. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
4. Ted Musgrave, Grand Marsh, Wis.
5. Alan Kulwicki, Greenfield, Wis.
6. Steve Murgic, Rosemount, Minn.
7. Scott Hansen, Green Bay, Wis.
8. Al Schill, Franklin, Wis.
9. Conrad Morgan, Dousman, Wis.
10.Rich Bickle Jr., Edgerton, Wis.
11.Jim Weber, Roseville, Minn.
12.Ed Hoffman, Bensenville
13.Don Leach, Beloit, Wis.
14.J.J. Smith, Appleton, Wis.
15.Rick Smith, Columbus, Wis.
16.Burt Weitemeyer, Lansing
17.Russ Peterson, Hartland, Wis.
18.Gene Coleman, Menomonee, Wis.
19.Joe Tyrell, Sycamore
20.Tony Strupp, Slinger, Wis.

No comments:

Post a Comment