Monday, September 11, 2023

1976 – Shryock Wins Webster City Futurity

Bob Shryock

Webster City, Iowa (September 11, 1976) – Bob Shryock of Estherville won the fourth annual Webster City Futurity 50-lap feature for late models at the Hamilton County Fairgrounds on Saturday night.

Dave Bjorge of Auston, Minn., took the initial lead with Bob Kosiski of Omaha and Mert Williams of Rochester, Minn., following close behind. Shryock, who started ninth in the 28-car field, slowly made his way to the front, settling into fourth place by lap 15.

A red flag on lap 19 allowed everyone to make a pit stop and make adjustments to their cars. When the field went back to green, Shryock made his move, flashing past Williams and Kosiski and settling into second place, right on Bjorge’s rear bumper.

Two laps later, Shryock went around Bjorge for the lead and immediately started distancing himself from Bjorge and the rest of the field. He built up a six-car advantage and kept it there until the checkers waved.

Bjorge settled for second with Kosiski taking third. Bill Rice of Des Moines and Denny Osborn of Cedar Falls took fourth and fifth, respectively.

Gail Brenner of Wilton won the 25-lap sportsman feature just beating Keith Conroy to the finish line.

Results –

Heat #1 – Tom Fitzpatrick, Gilbertville
Heat #2 – Bob Hilmer, Dysart
Heat #3 – Bill Martin, Council Bluffs
Heat #4 – Bill Rice, Des Moines
Race of Champions – Gary Crawford, Independence
Feature –
1. Bob Shryock, Estherville
2. Dave Bjorge, Austin, Minn.
3. Bob Kosiski, Omaha
4. Bill Rice
5. Denny Osborn, Cedar Falls
6. Dave Chase, Council Bluffs
7. Bill Martin
8. Karl Sanger, Waterloo
9. Roger Tapper, Webster City
10.Bob Hilmer

No comments:

Post a Comment