Saturday, September 2, 2023

1973 – Hansen Fails to Win Vote – Not Feature

Des Moines, Iowa (September 2, 1973) – Curt Hansen of Dike, Iowa lost a battle on Saturday, but because of it he captured the Midwest National Late Model Stock Car Championship at the Iowa State Fairgrounds.

“We almost didn’t get to come tonight,” Hansen said. “There are four of us who take care of the car. We usually race at Independence on Saturday nights and that’s where I wanted to go. We voted on it and the other three guys wanted to come here. I’m really glad I lost now.”

Hansen, driving a 1972 Chevelle, took the lead midway through the 100-lap contest and outdueled Dave Chase of Council Bluffs, Iowa to the finish line.

Ronnie Weedon of Pleasant Valley, Iowa, took third and Randy Sterner of Blair, Neb., grabbed fourth.

Sony Morgan of Fairmont, Minn., driving a 1973 Chevelle, won the 10-lap Race of Champions, which consisted of point leaders from 13 different Iowa tracks. Weedon placed second in the event and George Barton of Ankeny, Iowa, earned third.

Dick Oldham of Des Moines captured the 35-lap B feature ahead of Ken Farrell of New Hampton, Iowa, and Larry Wasserfort, Iowa.

Fred Horn of Marion, Iowa, driving a 1972 Dodge Charger, was the trophy dash winner while Bill Giel of Des Moines scored the consolation win.

Results –

1. Curt Hansen, Dike, Iowa
2. Dave Chase, Council Bluffs, Iowa
3. Ron Weedon, Pleasant Valley, Iowa
4. Randy Sterner, Blair, Neb.
5. Stan Stover, Reinbeck, Iowa
6. John Connolly, Delhi, Iowa
7. Dave Bjorge, Austin, Minn.
8. Ed Sanger, Waterloo, Iowa
9. Verlin Eaker, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
10. Lem Blankenship, Keokuk, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment