Wednesday, September 6, 2023

1982 – Fischlein Wins Pabst ‘Labor Day Classic’

Dale Fischlein accepts congratulations and his trophy from Pabst Blue Ribbon representative Johnny Oberthien after winning the Pabst Labor Day Challenge at Vinton Speedway. Fischlein won features on Sunday and Monday to claim the title.

Vinton, Iowa (September 6, 1982) – Dale Fischlein of Davenport won the overall title in the two-day Pabst Blue Ribbon Challenge for IMCA modifieds at Vinton Speedway and he did it in convincing fashion, winning both 50-lap features on Sunday and Monday.

Fischlein held a slim one-point lead over Mike Schulte of Norway going into Monday’s 50-lap finale and won by seven markers over Schulte who finished fourth in the Monday feature.

Third overall was Bernie Juliar of Hudson, while Dan Higdon of Vinton and Tom Herbert of Rock Island, Ill., tied for fourth in the final standings.

Fischlein won Sunday’s 50-lapper over Mike Simpson of Evansdale, Schulte, Juliar, and Higdon. He came back Monday, winning over Jack Mitchell of Cedar Falls, Juliar, Schulte, and Kenny Kindelsperger of Moline, Ill.

The two-day program was hampered by poor weather. Sunday’s action was pushed back two hours by rain and was ended after 19 events had been completed just before midnight.

Monday’s weather included overnight rain that left the parking area and pit area a sloppy mess but diligent day-long work by track officials produced one of the fastest tracks of the season and the fans who braved the cold weather were treated to some of the best racing in all divisions ever seen at the quarter-mile.

Saturday’s late model winner was Bob Fisher of Vinton, who took the main over Larry Lehman of Waterloo, Duane Van Deest of Grundy Center, John Scherer of Davenport, and Mike Mauer of Cedar Falls.

However, Fisher was unable to make it two straight for the weekend as he was at Virginia Gay Hospital when the late model feature began.

Fisher and Bruce Anderson, a pit man for Fisher, were both struck in the pit area when a altered street stock driven by Dutch Hobbs of Vinton sailed off the fourth turn and hit a pickup truck. Fisher, Anderson, and Duane White, owner of Fisher’s car, were all struck by the trailer hooked the truck upon impact. Fisher was knocked under the trailer and suffered bruises. Anderson also suffered bruises and White was struck in the leg.

The accident took on a spectacular aspect as Hobbs’ also struck a five-gallon can of gasoline and that ignited, sending flames shooting high in the air. Fortunately, the fire department was quickly on the scene and brought the fire under control.

Sunday’s late model feature was won by Curt Martin of Independence with Van Deest second and Scherer third.

Sunday’s altered street stock feature went to Craig Coventry of Brandon while Monday’s main event was taken by Merv Chandler of Cedar Rapids.

Results –

Sunday –

Altered Street Stock –
Heat #1 – Ron Fare, Hiawatha
Heat #2 – Dick Covington, Vinton
Heat #3 – Craig Coventry, Vinton
Semi-main – Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids
Feature –
1. Craig Coventry
2. Dan Heath, Cedar Falls
3. Ron Fare
4. Merv Chandler
5. Bob Bentley, Cedar Falls
6. Ron Cousins, Evansdale

Late Model –

Heat #1 – Bob Fisher, Vinton
Heat #2 – Larry Lehman, Waterloo
Feature –
1. Bob Fisher
2. Larry Lehman
3. Duane Van Deest, Grundy Center
4. John Scherer, Davenport
5. Mike Mauer, Cedar Falls
6. Dick Ennenga, Waterloo
7. John Brustkern, Waterloo

IMCA Modified –

Heat #1 – Rick Clemens, Vinton
Heat #2 – Todd Jensen, Waterloo
Heat #3 – Steve Stinger, Hiawatha
Semi-main – Mike Mauer, Cedar Falls
Feature –
1. Dale Fischlein, Davenport
2. Mike Sampson, Evansdale
3. Mike Schulte, Norway
4. Bernie Juliar, Hudson
5. Dan Higdon, Vinton
6. Phil Barkdoll, Garrison
7. Keith Knaack, Vinton
8. Tom Herbert, Rock Island, Ill.
9. Rick Clemens
10.Ernie Lilly, Morrison, Ill.

Monday –

Altered Street Stock –

Heat #1 – Dutch Hobbs, Vinton
Heat #2 – Dick Covington
Semi-main – Ron Fare
Feature –
1. Merv Chandler
2. Frank Crotts, Oelwein
3. Dan Heath
4. Vince Buchholz, Cedar Falls
5. Ron Phelps, Van Horne

Late Model –

Heat #1 – Duane Van Deest
Heat #2 – Bob Fisher
Feature –
1. Curt Martin, Independence
2. Duane Van Deest
3. John Scherer
4. Jerry Oelrich, Fayette
5. Steve Gill, Fairbanks
6. Harlan Heins, Luana

IMCA Modified –

Heat #1 – Mike Krall, Waterloo
Heat #2 – Tom Herbert
Heat #3 – Bernie Juliar
Semi-main – Dale Fischlein
Feature –
1. Dale Fischlein
2. Jack Mitchell, Cedar Falls
3. Bernie Juliar
4. Mike Schulte
5. Kenny Kindelsperger, Moline, Ill.
6. Keith Knaack
7. Dan Higdon
8. Rick Clemens
9. Tom Herbert
10.Steve Stinger

No comments:

Post a Comment