Friday, September 8, 2023

1979 – Trickle Dominates Dairyland 150

Dick Trickle holds the trophy for winning the Dairyland 150 at Golden Sands Speedway. ARTGO’s John McKarns (left) and Dennis Brown of Dairyland Transport (right), the sponsor of the event, join Trickle in victory lane.Kurt Luoma Photo

Plover Wis. (September 8, 1979) – Dick Trickle made a clean sweep of things during the ARTGO Dairyland 150 at Golden Sands Speedway on Saturday night.

Trickle set a new track record during qualifying and then raced to victories in the 50-lap and 100-lap features.

For his efforts, the Wisconsin Rapids veteran pocketed $2,775 for the evening’s work. The total payoff for the event was $16,500.

Trickle has now won seven straight ARTGO-sanctioned feature events.

In the 100-lap feature, Trickle beat out Larry Detjens of Wausau and Mark Martin of Batesville, Ark., for the victory. Tom Reffner of Rudolph and Marv Marzofka of Nekoosa rounded out the top five.

In the first 50-lapper, Trickle again out-distanced Larry Detjens for the victory. In the second 50-lapper, Mike Miller of Wisconsin Rapids outdueled Mark Martin for the win.

Trickle’s new track record in time trials was 12.16 seconds on the one-third mile asphalt, breaking his own record of 12.67 seconds he set back in 1970.

There were 62 entries for the event, sponsored by Dairyland Transport, Inc., of Wisconsin Rapids.

Results –

Feature #1 –

1. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids
2. Larry Detjens, Wausau
3. Pat Schauer, Watertown
4. Mark Lamoreaux, Bloomington, Minn.
5. Jim Back, Vesper
6. Steve Holzhausen, Bangor
7. Steve Burgess, Eau Claire
8. Kevin Stepan, Mosinee
9. Joel Laufer, Hartford
10.Ken Lund, Deerfield

Feature #2 –

1. Mike Miller, Wisconsin Rapids
2. Mark Martin, Batesville, Ark.
3. John Ziegler, Madison
4. Marv Marzofka, Nekoosa
5. Joe Shear, South Beloit, Ill.
6. Willie Goeden, Kewaskum
7. Bobby Gunn, Madison
8. Tom Jones, Northbrook, Ill.
9. Mel Whalen, Shakopee, Minn.
10.Bob Strait, Flossmoor, Ill.

Feature #3 –

1. Dick Trickle
2. Larry Detjens
3. Mark Martin
4. Tom Reffner
5. Marv Marzofka
6. John Ziegler
7. Joe Shear
8. Jim Back
9. Bob Strait
10.Pat Schauer

No comments:

Post a Comment