Wednesday, September 20, 2023

1963 – Reinhart is Tri-State Winner

Homer Melton, president of the Mississippi Valley Racing Association, presents the Tri-State Championship trophy to Jerry Reinhart.

Davenport, Iowa (September 20, 1963) – Jerry Reinhart is the apparent winner of the 100-lap Tri-State Championship racing special held at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds on Friday night.

The victory by Reinhart in the feature race was protested and a ruling was expected Saturday afternoon to clarify if the Moline, Ill., driver is the official winner.

Reinhart defeated Lloyd Caldwell of Kewaunee, Ill., for the victory with Bill Starr of Davenport finishing third.

Dean Montgomery of Milan, Ill., and Willis Franck of Rock Island, Ill., were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Heat winners were Ernie Speth of Davenport, Del Williams of Aledo, Ill., Charlie Moffitt of Stanwood, and Reinhart. Williams also won the semi-main. 

Results –

Heat #1 – Ernie Speth, Davenport
Heat #2 – Del Williams, Aledo, Ill.
Heat #3 – Charlie Moffitt, Stanwood
Heat #4 – Jerry Reinhart, Moline, Ill.
Semi-main – Del Williams
Feature –
1. Jerry Reinhart
2. Lloyd Caldwell, Kewaunee, Ill.
3. Bill Starr, Davenport
4. Dean Montgomery, Milan, Ill.
5. Willis Franck, Rock Island, Ill.
6. Red Droste, Waterloo
7. Dean Montgomery
8. Del Williams
9. John Moss, Iowa City
10.Jack Lueth, Davenport

No comments:

Post a Comment