Saturday, September 9, 2023

1967 – Topeka Sprints to Busson

Karl Busson had reason to smile after winning the 25-lap IMCA sprint car race at Topeka. Busson would go on to capture the national title that year.

Topeka, Kan. (September 9, 1967) – Karl Busson added another jewel to the crown he’s preparing for the day he’ll be International Motor Contest Association sprint car champion by charging into the lead on the 17th circuit and taking the feature race at the Mid-America Fairgrounds on Saturday.

By winning, the Toledo, Ohio, driver added to his 430-point lead he enjoys over Jerry Richert of Forest Lake, Minn., after having no issues taking the top spot in the 25-lap main event.

There were 4,350 race fans on hand, and they had to spend much of the afternoon viewing time trials at Al Sweeney of Nationals Speedways, Inc., had 45 machines for the opening two-day race meet.

Busson claimed the fourth fastest qualifying time and started behind Joe Saldana of Lincoln, Neb., and Jay Woodside of Kansas City in the feature. Richert started alongside Busson on the second row.

Woodside flashed into the lead at the start, with Saldana in hot pursuit. Busson moved past Saldana on the inside coming out of turn four on lap 3. He was then content to chase Woodside for the next 14 laps.

On the 17th go-round, Busson slipped past the winner of last year’s Fair opener and was home free after that.

Woodside had to settle for second with Saldana slipping back to fourth after Dale Reed of Topeka made a late charge to claim third place. Reed was the hard charger for the race, starting eighth in the contest.

Results –

Time trials – Joe Saldana (23.90)
Heat #1 – Jerry Richert
Heat #2 – Jim Moughan
Heat #3 – Chuck Taylor
Trophy dash – Karl Busson
Consolation – Jay Woodside
Feature –
1. Karl Busson
2. Jay Woodside
3. Dale Reed
4. Joe Saldana
5. Jerry Richert
6. Lee Kunzman
7. Gordon Woolley
8. Jim Moughan
9. Roy Bryant
10.Johnny Babb

No comments:

Post a Comment