Friday, June 1, 2018

1974 - Hansen Wins Feature in Close Three-Way Duel

Curt Hansen

West Liberty, Iowa (June 1, 1974) – Curt Hansen of Dike out dueled Duane Steffe of East Moline and Ron Weedon of Pleasant Valley to claim his first Mississippi Valley Speed Club racing victory of the season at West Liberty Raceway before a large crowd on Saturday night.

The trio went bumper-to-bumper for the final half of the feature before Hansen ducked across the finish line to claim the checkered flag.

Bill Newman of Burlington and Bob Helm of Andalusia tangled in the opening curve of the first lap in the feature race. Helm’s car was damaged heavily and both drivers were scratched from the race.

Darrell Dake, who set a track record with a 24.52 qualifying time last week, also had the fastest time this week with a 25.09.

Ron Prymek won the first heat, while Jim Gerber out dueled Weedon in a close second heat. The third heat race was claimed by Ken Walton, who also won the Australian pursuit. The semi-main was won by Newman.

In street stock competition, Dave Birkhofer won the first heat and then came back to take the checkered flag in the feature. Dan Sanders was the winner of the second heat.

The cars of Curt Hetzler and Jerry Brumley were involved in a feature accident with both cars damaged and taken out of the race.

Results –

Super Stocks

Fast Time: Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids (25.09)
First Heat: Ron Prymek, Des Moines
Second Heat: Jim Gerber, Long Grove
Third Heat: Ken Walton, Viola
Australian Pursuit: Ken Walton
Semi-Main: Bill Newman, Burlington
Feature -
1. Curt Hansen, Dike
2. Duane Steffe, Colona, Ill.
3. Ron Weedon, Pleasant Valley
4. Ken Walton
5. Steve Keppler, Marion
6. Mel Morris, West Liberty
7. Ron Prymek
8. Larry Rummelhart, Riverside
9. Benny Hofer, Davenport
10. Jim Gerber

Street Stocks

Feature -
1. Dave Birkhofer, Muscatine
2. Ken DeGood, Iowa City
3. Wayne French, Muscatine
4. Darrell Krewson, Cedar Rapids
5. Jack Hall, Muscatine
6. Willie Dee, West Liberty
7. Jerry Brumley, Iowa City
8. Dan Sanders, West Liberty
9. Tom Rock, Muscatine
10. Gene Hearst, Muscatine

No comments:

Post a Comment