Tuesday, August 7, 2012

1971 - Dan Dickey is first at Des Moines fairground

Des Moines, Iowa (August 7, 1971) - Dan Dickey laughs off any suggestion that you have to be an experienced driver to win at the State Fairgrounds.

"This is just my second season in racing," the 21-year-old driver from Packwood said Saturday night after capturing his first late model feature victory here before 7,778 spectators.

"I've won twice at Eldon and once at Oskaloosa this summer, but they really have some good drivers here. Perhaps that's why there have been 11 different winners in 15 weeks," Dickey added.

Dickey is the youngest driver to win a Fairgrounds feature this season. He stayed near the lead through 15 laps before running neck-and-neck with last week's feature victor, Sonny Morgan of Blue Earth, Minn., for the next seven laps.

As Dickey and Morgan approached the first turn, another car that was about to be lapped held the inside position just ahead of Morgan. Dickey flashed to the front as Morgan was forced to slow, and he breezed the final three laps to finish two lengths ahead of Morgan.

"I just tried to hang among the leaders," Dickey said. "It took awhile to find an opening because Morgan was running strong."

Dickey had finished second twice in his 1970 Charger this summer, but was never higher than sixth in his rookie year. He was ninth in the point standings entering the race.

Stan Stover of Reinbeck, second in the points, was third after being well back in the pack during the first half of the race. Bob Bonzer of Liscomb finished fourth and Ron Hutchinson of Des Moines was fifth.

Point’s leader Bob Hilmer of Dysart, Iowa experienced problems with his car in his heat race and finished a disappointing 12th in the feature.

Results –

1. Dan Dickey, Packwood, Iowa
2. Sonny Morgan, Blue Earth, Minn.
3. Stan Stover, Reinbeck, Iowa
4. Bob Bonzer, Liscomb, Iowa
5. Ron Hutchinson, Des Moines
6. Tom Stewart, Washington, Iowa
7. Terry Ryan, Davenport, Iowa
8. Ken Davidson, Des Moines
9. Gary Jones, Des Moines
10. John Meyers, Brooklyn, Iowa
11. Vern Mondry, St. Paul, Minn.
12. Bob Hilmer, Dysart, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment