Tuesday, October 1, 2019

1972 – Eaker Tops Eldora Clay; Captures World 100

Rossburg, Ohio (October 1, 1972) – Eldora Speedway hosted 81 top late model drivers and cars in Sunday’s second annual World 100 and it was Cedar Rapids, Iowa’s Verlin Eaker carting off the $5,000 first-place money. Eaker also picked up $180 in lap money, staying in front from the 82nd lap.

Cincinnati’s Pat Patrick showed the way for the first 46 circuit in his 1970 Chevelle, owned by Cliff Polking. Bill Zwanziger of Waterloo, Iowa, would get past Patrick on lap 47 and hold the top spot until lap 82 when Eaker would roar past en route to the victory.

Zwanziger would spin out, finishing 16th with Patrick regaining the runner-up and staying there until the end. Bruce Gould of Milford, Ohio, driving a 1971 Torino, would take third.

Chevrolet drivers Earl Smith of Anniston, Ala., and Chick Hale of Lewisburg, Ohio rounded out the top five. Ron Edwards of Cincinnati copped the semi-feature ahead of Bob Davis of Mansfield, Ohio.

Besides the $1,500 second place money, Pat Patrick also collected $460 in lap money. Gould would take home $1,000.

Eight heats were necessary for the large number of late models. Dick DeBolt, Mike Shaw, Ed Sanger, Dale Woolworth, Ron Edwards, Roger Paul, Jim Patrick and Buster Blackford took home honors.

Results –

1. Verlin Eaker, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2. Pat Patrick, Cincinnati, Ohio
3. Bruce Gould, Milford, Ohio
4. Earl Smith, Anniston, Ala.
5. Chick Hale, Lewisburg, Ohio
6. Joe Bennett, Fort Wayne, Ind.
7. Jim Fleming, Bellevue, Ohio
8. Jerry Miller, Hazel Park, Mich.
9. Danny Dean, Mt. Vernon, Ohio
10. Dick DeBolt, Union City, Ind.

1 comment: