Monday, May 14, 2018

1989 - Hansen Tops ASA Badgerland 150

Scott Hansen

West Allis, Wis. (May 14, 1989) - Scott Hansen of Green Bay, Wis., captured the Badgerland 150 at Wisconsin State Fair Park to become the first rookie to win an American Speed Association event on Sunday.
Never before in the history of ASA had a rookie won a race until the Wisconsin short track veteran of seven years took the checkered flag in front of Canadian Junior Hanley on the famed “Milwaukee Mile”.
Hansen drove the Baker Motorsports Chevrolet, which is prepared only 10 blocks away from the track, to the biggest win of his stock car racing career. The rookie of the year contender became the second different winner in two ASA races.
Hansen averaged 84.149 miles per hour and won $8,650 from a $83,600 purse.
In his first full season with ASA and winning in only his 16th career start, Hansen said, “I didn’t expect to win so quickly in ASA. This is my biggest win so far and it means a lot to win here in Wisconsin.”
Hanley held the lead for 26 laps before the first and only flurry of pit stops for the lead pack on lap 66 and dropped to 10th before working his way through the field to finish second.
Butch Miller, the ASA point leader, was among the top-eight before making his late-race charge from sixth and challenging Hanley side-by-side for several laps. He would settle for third place.
Wisconsin veteran Dick Trickle made his 1989 ASA debut and finish fourth while Mike Eddy, driving a V6 Buick, rounded out the top five.
NASCAR Winston Cup veteran and former ASA champions Rusty Wallace and Mark Martin did not finish. Wallace grabbed the lead from Hansen on lap 12 and held it for 27 circuits before retiring with transmission issues. Martin’s return to Milwaukee was marred by a broken axle sustained in a mishap on a restart.
Fifteen cars completed the full 150-mile distance and 27 of the 41-car field were running at the finish of the 18th ASA sanctioned race on the Milwaukee Mile since 1978.

Results –

1.    Scott Hansen, Green Bay, Wis.
2.    Junior Hanley, Oakville, Ontario, Canada
3.    Butch Miller, Coopersville, Mich.
4.    Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
5.    Mike Eddy, Midland, Mich.
6.    Bob Senneker, Dorr, Mich.
7.    Joe Shear, Lake Villa, Ill.
8.    Tom Jones. Northbrook, Ill.
9.    Kent Stauffer, Elyria, Ohio
10.  Steve Seligman, Northbrook, Ill.
11.  Ed Howe, Beaverton, Mich.
12.  Art Sommer, Mt. Clemens, Mich.
13.  Tony Raines, LaPorte, Ind.
14.   Jay Sauter, Necedah, Wis.
15.   John Wilson, Springfield, Ohio
16.   Gary St. Amant, Columbus, Ohio
17.   Mike Wallace, Fenton, Mo.
18.   Dick Barker, Port Huron, Mich.
19.   Glenn Allen Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio
20.   Doug Drook, Cincinnati, Ohio
21.   Jeff Neal, Grayslake, Ill.
22.   Robbie Reiser, Allenton, Wis.
23.   Kenny Wallace, Valley Park, Mo.
24.   Dennis Vogel, Manitowoc, Wis.
25.   Harold Fair, Detroit, Mich.
26.   John Olson, Stoughton, Wis.
27.   Ray Skillman, Greenwood, Ind.
28.   Buddy Schrock, Plain City, Ohio
29.   Tom Harrington, Hendersonville, Tenn.
30.   Ted Musgrave, Grand Marsh, Wis.
31.   Mark Martin, Batesville, Ark.
32.   Bruce VanderLaan, Grand Rapids, Mich.
33.   Lonnie Rush Jr., Pickerington, Ohio
34.   John Gerhart, Angola, Ind.
35.   Ed Evans, Dousman, Wis.
36.   Dennis Lampman, Oak Creek, Wis.
37.   Rusty Wallace, Charlotte, N.C.
38.  Todd Forbes, Bryan, Ohio

No comments:

Post a Comment