Saturday, May 27, 2017

1970 - West Liberty’s Morris captures feature event

Mel Morris proudly holds the checkers after his win at Oskaloosa.
by Ida May Van Gendren
Oskaloosa, Iowa (May 27, 1970) - Mel Morris edged out last week's winner, Pokey West, to capture the 15-lap super stock feature event Wednesday night at the Southern Iowa Fairgrounds.
The first six cars were so close during the main you could put a blanket over them as the cars were averaging around 84 miles per hour around the fast half-mile oval.

With Morris of West Liberty and West of West Chester finishing in the first and second places, it was John Moss of Riverside in third spot. Following them across the finish line were Ron Hemsted of Lone Tree, George Barton of Ankeny, Stan Stover of Reinbeck, Dan Hoffman of Des Moines and Phil Reese of Des Moines.

Bob Helm of Atalissa took home the five-lap trophy dash. George Barton and Ron Perdock were second and third.

The super stocks registered an average of over 84 miles per hour in the first eight-lap heat. It was a bumper to bumper finish with Pokey West, the victor. Next came George Barton, John Moss and Bill Martin of Council Bluffs.

Mel Morris also won the second eight-lap heat. In a race for second place Mark Mosier of Washington edged out fellow townsman, Ron Perdock, and Don Hoffman of Des Moines.

Joel Rasmussen of Ames took starter Jack Thompson’s checkered flag to win the third and final heat race of the evening. Pokey West passed Larry Embrey on the last lap to finish second. Bob Helm was third and Embrey from Grimes was fourth.

The race fans were treated to some fast and furious racing during the six-lap Australian Pursuit. George Barton and Mel Morris were side by side so often it looked as though they were hooked together. Barton managed to hold Morris off until the last lap when Morris sped by him, thereby eliminating Barton to win the race. Ron Hemsted was second and Pokey West third.

Ron Perdock won the 10-lap semi-main by a comfortable margin over Phil Reese. Alan Jones of Ainsworth placed third in his first time on the Oskaloosa track this season.

Results –

Trophy Dash: Bob Helm, Atalissa
First Heat: Pokey West, West Chester
Second Heat: Mel Morris, West Liberty
Third Heat: Joel Rasmussen, Ames
Australian Pursuit: Mel Morris
Consolation: Ron Perdock, Washington
1. Mel Morris
2. Pokey West
3. John Moss, Iowa City
4. Rom Hemsted, Lone Tree
5. George Barton, Ankeny
6. Stan Stover, Reinbeck
7. Don Hoffman, Des Moines
8. Phil Reece, Des Moines

No comments:

Post a Comment