Wednesday, July 3, 2024

1986 - Cywinski Overall Winner in State Park's Detjens

Kevin Cywinski was the overall winner of the sixth annual Larry Detjens Memorial at State Park Speedway. Presenting the plaque is Women Concerned for Auto Racing’s Brandi Brabau. – Ed Wodalski Photo

Rib Mountain, Wis. (July 3, 1986) – Kevin Cywinski won the first 25-lap feature and placed fourth in the second, which was won by Wayne Lodholz, to win the overall title in the State Park Speedway’s Larry Detjens Memorial late model event Thursday night.

Tom Reffner rounded out the list of late model winners, capturing the make-up main from a June 19 rainout.

Cywinski’s main event win was his first of the campaign, here. The Wausau pilot paced the final 12 circuits after taking first place from Lodholz. Lyle Nowak provided Cywinski with his toughest competition, but dropped back to third on the final lap, after mistaking the white flag for the checkered. Perry Redeker benefitted from Nowak’s blunder to take runner-up honors. Rick Haase was fourth followed by Don Marcis.

It was a night of ups and downs for Nowak, who had timed in fastest before crashing into the first turn sandbank while battling Haase and Cywinski for second place with three laps to go in the make-up feature which was won by Reffner. Haase claimed runner-up honors with Cywinski, Bob Macksey, and Lodholz, placing second through fifth, respectively.

“The crash set us back,” Nowak noted. “We worked on it all night. But I’m satisfied with what we did.”

Lodholz started the second Detjens Memorial headliner on the pole and led all 25 laps, crossing the finish line ahead of Reffner, Nowak, Cywinski, and Haase.

Cywinski tallied 89 points in the Detjens Memorial portion of the show to win the overall title by seven markers over Nowak. Redeker placed third with 73 points followed by Haase with 69, and Reffner with 67.

Results –

Feature #1 -

1. Kevin Cywinski, Wausau
2. Perry Redeker, Wausau
3. Lyle Nowak, Wausau
4. Rick Haase, Brokaw
5. Don Marcis, Wausau

Feature #2 –

1. Wayne Lodholz, Wausau
2. Tom Reffner, Rudolph
3. Lyle Nowak
4. Kevin Cywinski
5. Rick Haase

No comments:

Post a Comment