Friday, July 5, 2024

1969 – Moyer Wins Fairgrounds’ Mid-Season Title

Bill Moyer takes a victory lap after winning the mid-season title at Des Moines. 

Des Moines, Iowa (July 5, 1969) – Des Moines’ Bill Moyer squeezed his 1968 Corvette past Lem Blankenship’s 1965 Plymouth on the final turn of the 32nd lap, then coasted to the mid-season late model championship at the Iowa state Fairgrounds before 7,957 fans.

Blankenship, a Keokuk native, had taken the lead on the second lap and had constructed a comfortable lead before Moyer started to work from his fourth starting position.

Moyer moved into second place past Darrell Dake, the semi-main winner from Cedar Rapids in a 1967 Ford Fairlane, ad George Barton, the second heat winner from Ankeny, on lap 25.

Point leader Bob Hilmer of Dysart was forced to withdraw his 1965 Chevelle on lap 12 because of a broken fan belt.

Last year’s champion, Verlin Eaker of Cedar Rapids, driving his 1967 Dodge, made his 1969 Fairgrounds’ debut with a fourth place finish in the second heat, then dropped out after 20 laps in the feature.

Washington’s Ron Perdock won the sportsman feature after point leader Don Hoffman of Des Moines dropped out on lap 12 with a blown tire.

Results –

Trophy dash – Dick Oldham, Des Moines
Heat #1 – Joe Alsin, Ankeny
Heat #2 – George Barton, Ankeny
Heat #3 – Lem Blankenship, Keokuk
Semi-main – Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids
Feature –
1. Bill Moyer, Des Moines
2. Lem Blankenship
3. Darrell Dake
4. George Barton
5. Ole Brua, albert Lea, Minn.
6. Joe Alsin
7. Dick Oldham
8. Mike Keen, Marshalltown
9. Arlo Becker, Atkins
10.Gordon Blankenship, Keokuk

No comments:

Post a Comment