Tuesday, July 9, 2024

1961 – For Stott; A Really Great Day

A weary Ramo Stott accepts his trophy for winning the Iowa International at Des Moines. – Del Borer Photo

Des Moines, Iowa (July 9, 1961) – Ramo Stott climbed out of his 1961 Ford and said Sunday, “It’s a beautiful day.”

For the 27-year-old Keokuk driver, it could be called that for he just finished winning his second straight Iowa International 300-lap late model stock car championship before a crowd of 15,500. With the victory, Stott collected $1,000 plus bonuses.

Only a few years back, Stott, a former Kahoka, Mo., farm boy, would have been tickled with $100. He was a welder then in Keokuk.

Before his wife Judy could stop him, Ramo was driving jalopies, 1932 models with 1956 motors.

From there, Stott, the International Motor Contest Association’s rookie-of-the-year for 1958, has stepped up to the current second ranking among drivers in the stock car division.

“I’d be ahead of Ernie right now if I hadn’t blown the motor in Topeka,” explained Stott, the only IMCA driver to win three major (200 laps or more) races this season.

Derr battled Stott constantly during the last 175 laps of the race, staged before 15,500 at the Iowa State Fairgrounds, where the winner set new records for 100- and 150-mile distances.

“I thought for a minute that John (Beauchamp) was going to get me,” Stott said afterwards. “John bumped me, but I got away.”

Including his three major features, Stott has seven triumphs this season with his 1961 Ford, which is powered by a 375 horsepower, 390-cubic-inch engine.

Former winners Beauchamp of Harlan and Darrell Dake of Cedar Rapids were both forced out by mechanical failures that sidelined 16 of the original field of 36 by the end of 200 laps.

Stott covered the 150-mile distance in 2 hours, 29 minutes, and 59.21 seconds, 24 minutes faster than the old mark. He also left the 100-mile mark in shambles, with a new time of 1 hour, 39 minutes, and 10.13 seconds.

He was followed across the finish line by Derr, who settled for second. Two more fellow townsmen, Jerry McCredie, and Dick Hutcherson took third and fourth, respectively. Bob Reynolds of Edmond, Okla., rounded out the top five.

Results –

1. Ramo Stott, Keokuk
2. Ernie Derr, Keokuk
3. Jerry McCredie, Keokuk
4. Dick Hutcherson, Keokuk
5. Bob Reynolds, Edmond, Okla.
6. Chub Liebe, Oelwein
7. Jerry Draper, Cedar Rapids
8. Johnny Jones, Russell, Minn.
9. Buzz McCann, St. Paul, Minn.
10.Cal Swanson, Reinbeck
11.Ole Brua, Albert Lea, Minn.
12.Tubby Harrison, Topeka, Kan.
13.Gerry Harrison, Topeka, Kan.
14.Bill Moyer, Des Moines
15.Ron Snow, Red Wing, Minn.

No comments:

Post a Comment