Tuesday, July 9, 2024

1978 – Hartwig Charges to Horstmeyer Memorial Win

John Hartwig won the Bill Horstmeyer 50 for the third time at Angell Park Speedway. Presenting the trophy is former Badger Midget champion Billy Wood (left) and starter Harvey Konkel. - Dave Kozy Photo

Sun Prairie, Wis. (July 9, 1978) – John Hartwig became the first three-time winner of the Badger Midget Auto Racing Association’s annual 50-lap Bill Horstmeyer Memorial feature at Angell Park Speedway Sunday evening.

Hartwig sped from his second row starting assignment to grab the lead at the drop of the green flag and was never headed in recording the victory.

Mark Glembin won a tight three-way struggle for runner-up honors by edging Stan Fox, who placed third, and Ken Biertzer, who took fourth, and fifth-place finisher Eddie Loomis.

A pair of spectacular mishaps marred preliminary events. The first saw Dale Cox flip his mount after riding over the wheel of another racer during the opening heat. Later, in hot laps before the semi-feature, Jim Hill spun, triggering a chain reaction which left Al Fredenburg’s car upside down.

Results –

1. John Hartwig, Johnson Creek, Wis.
2. Mark Glembin, West Allis, Wis.
3. Stan Fox, Janesville, Wis.
4. Ken Biertzer, West Bend, Wis.
5. Eddie Loomis, Waukesha, Wis.
6. Dan Boorse, Milwaukee
7. Buster Linne, Mendota, Ill.
8. Dave Ray, Davenport, Iowa
9. Charles Ford Jr., Waldo, Wis.
10.Dean Erfurth, Oregon, Wis.

No comments:

Post a Comment