Thursday, July 4, 2024

1964 – Tingelstad Wins Salem Sprint Feature

Bud Tingelstad

Salem, Ind. (July 4, 1964) - Bud Tingelstad, Dayton, Ohio, drove his Chevrolet to victory Saturday in the 30-lap sprint car feature at the Greater Salem Speedway, his first triumph in the United States Auto Club race in five seasons on the club’s circuit.

He set a track record of 9 minutes and 19.75 seconds for the 30 trips around the high-banked asphalt oval. The old mark was 9 minutes and 34.49 seconds by Parnelli Jones, Torrance, Calif., three years ago.

Tingelstad’s victory was worth $950 of the total purse of $5,000.

A car length behind in second place was Don Branson, Champaign, Ill., in one of the two Offenhauser-powered cars which finished in the top 10. The others were Chevrolets.

Arnie Knepper, Belleville, Ill., was third; Gordon Johncock, Hastings, Mich., fourth; and Steve “Buzz” Gregory, Indianapolis, fifth. All drove Chevrolets.

There were no accidents in the feature and the only time the yellow flag waved during the entire program was for a spin by Jud Larson of Kansas City during warm-ups.

Tingelstad also won the first of three 8-lap heat races. Larson took the second and Johncock the third. Mickey Rupp, Mansfield, Ohio, won the 10-lap consolation race.

Results –

1. Bud Tingelstad
2. Don Branson
3. Arnie Knepper
4. Gordon Johncock
5. Steve Gregory
6. Mario Andretti
7. Mickey Rupp
8. Chuck Engel
9. Tommy Copp
10.Dee Jones

No comments:

Post a Comment