Thursday, July 4, 2024

1979 - Reffner Wins La Crosse ARTGO Special

Tom Reffner

West Salem, Wis. (July 4, 1979) – Tom Reffner won the ARTGO Racing-sanctioned NGK Spark Plug 200 late model stock car race at the La Crosse Interstate Speedway on Wednesday night before a near record crowd.

Reffner, the defending ARTGO champion who also captured the title in 1975, drove his 1978 AMX to his second series win of the season.

Reffner, who set second fastest time during qualifying and started ninth, grabbed the lead away from Dick Trickle on lap 37 as the duo battled through turn one.

On lap 100 the yellow flew for Mark Martin, the new record holder. Martin lost control of his Camaro coming out of turn two, sending the Arkansas youngster on a wild run, precariously riding the top of the backstretch wall before sliding into the infield grass.

Martin, who was running a strong race despite an engine with only seven cylinders, escaped injury.

Reffner pitted on the yellow flag, and lost the lead, but he passed Bob Senneker for the front running spot on lap 194 and was never headed after that.

Dave Watson grabbed second on the white flag lap and Senneker hung on for third place. Butch Miller and Rusty Wallace rounded out the top five.

Results –

1. Tom Reffner
2. Dave Watson
3. Bob Senneker
4. Butch Miller
5. Rusty Wallace
6. Dick Trickle
7. Steve Burgess
8. Larry Detjens
9. Larry Schuler
10. Alan Kulwicki
11. John Kraus
12. Mark Lamoreaux
13. Dave Evans
14. Bob Strait
15. Bob Jusola
16. Leonard Reimer
17. John Brevik
18. Butch Mierendorf
19. Tom Musgrave
20. Mark Martin
21. Jim Back
22. Marv Marzofka
23. John Ziegler
24. Morie Delmore

No comments:

Post a Comment