Thursday, July 4, 2024

1972 – White a Winner at Springfield

Bobby Baugh interviews Don White after the Keokuk, Iowa, racing veteran won the Independence 100 for USAC late model stock cars at the Springfield Mile. 

Springfield, Ill. (July 4, 1972) – Don White of Keokuk, Iowa, won the inaugural Independence 100 USAC late model stock car race Tuesday at the Illinois State Fairgrounds.

White, driving a 1970 Dodge, finished a comfortable eight seconds ahead of Ralph Latham, Bay Darnell, and Jim Tobin, in that order.

Al Unser, a former Indy 500 winner, had mechanical trouble and was unable to qualify. Unser was placed in the 33rd starting position only to get involved in a wreck with Ray Bohlander on the first lap.

Bohlander dipped in front of Unser in the first turn, sending Unser into the wall. Both drivers escaped injury but were unable to continue because of the extensive damage on both cars.

Heavy dust marred the event which was red flagged after only four laps for more watering and slowed by a yellow flag on lap 26.

Ramo Stott of Keokuk, Iowa, earned the pole position in his 1972 Plymouth with a qualifying time of 38.87 seconds around the 1-mile dirt oval. Stott would lead for 12 laps before encountering steering issues. He would drop out on the 49th mile and be credited with an 18th place finish.

Results –

1. Don White
2. Ralph Latham
3. Bay Darnell
4. Jim Tobin
5. Paul Feldner
6. Paul Sizemore
7. George Giesen
8. Dave Whitcomb
9. Tom Klippel
10.Lem Blankenship
11.Kenny Reiter
12.Mark Dinsmore
13.Harold Fair
14.Chuck McWilliams
15.Dan Dickey
16.Bud Schroyer
17.Don Hoffman
18.Ramo Stott
19. Kenny McEldowney
20.Bob Robbins

No comments:

Post a Comment