Monday, July 15, 2013

1971 - Ed Sanger tops stocks in Wanerus Memorial

Tipton, Iowa (July 15, 1971) - Ed Sanger of Waterloo showed a packed house at the Cedar County Fairgrounds Thursday night why he is the late-model stock car point leader at three different tracks.
The occasion was the Ted Wanerus Memorial faces for the Marion driver who was killed in a race here three weeks ago.
The purse consisted of attractive trophies, but Sanger charged around the quarter-mile dirt oval as if he was racing for $500.
Ed and his 1970 Monte Carlo started in the eighth spot and it took him only four laps to run to daylight and take over the lead position. Sanger, who is the point leader at Cedar Rapids, Independence, and Waterloo, won comfortably.
John Connolly of Delhi was second, Ron Prymek of Iowa City third, Dale Snyder of Cedar Rapids fourth and Bill Beckman of Lisbon fifth.
The night's events also included actions for the sportsman, street stock, super modified, mini-stock classes and a special match race.
Most exciting was the sportsman feature with Ron Lint of Cedar Rapids copping the checkered flag. Lint and Arlo Becker of Atkins exchanged the lead three times before Lint took command on the white flag lap.
John Scherer of Davenport won the street stock feature, Don Jermier of Mount Pleasant topped the super mods and Bill McDonough of Cedar Rapids paced the minis. Tipton's Bumps Willert copped the match race ahead of Ernie Derr, Keith Knaack and Ramo Stott.
Gate receipts totaled $3,395 and the entire amount will go into a trust fund for Wanerus’ two children.
Results –
Late Model –

1.     Ed Sanger, Waterloo
2.     John Connolly, Delhi
3.     Ron Prymek, Iowa City
4.     Dale Snyder, Cedar Rapids
5.     Bill Beckman, Lisbon
6.     Frank Fredericks, Peoria, Ill.
7.     Tim McDonough, Cedar Rapids
8.     Blackie Lyons, Cascade

Sportsman –

1.     Ron Lint, Cedar Rapids
2.     Arlo Becker, Atkins
3.     Chuck Lukemyre, Tipton
4.     Stan Woods, Tipton
5.     Jim Stodola, Shellsburg

Street Stock –

1.     John Scherer, Davenport
2.     Tom Hearst, Muscatine
3.     Karl Vohrmeier, Maquoketa
4.     Dan Hack, Camanche
5.     Walt Hickey, Fairfax

No comments:

Post a Comment