Friday, July 28, 2023

1976 – Merryfield wins Southern Iowa Speedway Feature

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 28, 1976) - Coming from the inside third row starting position, Des Moines’ Joe Merryfield guided his 1976 Camaro to victory in Wednesday night's 20-lap late model stock car feature at the Southern Iowa Speedway.

“Injun Joe” caught early leader Ed Sanger of Waterloo on the third lap and maneuvered around the outside of Sanger four laps later for the lead he never relinquished.

Point leader Sanger stayed hot on Merryfield's trail the final 13 laps for second spot, with Falstaff Classic winner Curt Hansen of Dike, claiming third and Don Hoffman of Des Moines fourth.

Results –

Heat #1 - Bob McCall, Ottumwa
Heat #2 - Ed Sanger, Waterloo
Heat #3 - Bill Rice, Des Moines
Australian Pursuit - Joe Merryfield, Des Moines
Feature - 
1. Joe Merryfield
2. Ed Sanger
3. Curt Hansen, Dike
4. Don Hoffman, Des Moines
5. Bob McCall
6. Stan Stover, Reinbeck
7. Roger Dolan, Lisbon
8. Jack Mitchell, Cedar Falls
9. Pokey West, West Chester
10.Red Dralle, Evansdale

No comments:

Post a Comment