Wednesday, July 12, 2023

1964 – Jones wins Milwaukee 200-Miler

Rufus "Parnelli" Jones

West Allis, Wis. (July 12, 1964)-Parnelli Jones has extended to four his string of late model stock car victories at the Wisconsin State Fairgrounds, winning Sunday's 200-miler by edging out teammate Rodger Ward by a single second.

Jones from Torrance, Calif., Calif., started from the pole position after setting a qualifying single lap record of 100.08 miles per hour on the one-mile paved track.

Except while they were in the pits, Jones or Ward, of Indianapolis, held the lead throughout. Jones squeezed ahead to stay with 10 miles left.

Driving one of the 1964 Mercury’s entered by Bill Stroppe of Los Angeles, Jones, who started his fairgrounds victory string last summer, averaged 93.102 m.p.h.

His earnings were 85,427 from a total purse of $27,780 contributed by a crowd of 33,103. Ward's cut was $3,789.

The race with 38 starters, was halted for 20 minutes when five cars piled up on the 38th lap. The crash sent Johnny Rutherford of Fort Worth, Tex., to a hospital for a checkup after he complained of chest pains. He was listed in satisfactory condition.

Drivers who escaped injury in the pileup were Bobby Marshman of Pottstown, Pa.; Lloyd Ruby of Wichita Falls, Tex.; Ralph Baker of Holland, Mich., and Gordon Gorman of Libertyville, Ill.

Indianapolis 500 winner, A.J. Foyt of Houston, Tex., a prerace favorite, was forced out when his 1964 Dodge broke an axle on the 108th lap.

Norm Nelson of Racine, Wis., was third in a 1964 Plymouth. Don White of Keokuk, Iowa, who had held the lead for seven laps while Jones and Ward were in the pits, was fourth and Whitey Gerken of Melrose Park, Ill., was fifth. White and Gerken drove 1964 Fords.

White and Marshman drove for Mrs. Vanda Hurst of Milwaukee. Ruby was driving the second 1964 Plymouth entered by Nelson.

Results –

1. Parnelli Jones
2. Rodger Ward
3. Norm Nelson
4. Don White
5. Whitey Gerken
6. Joe Leonard
7. Bill Shoulders
8. John Reimer
9. Bob Slensby
10.John Kilborn
11.Don Sorce
12.Bob Goetsch
13.Bruce Jacobi
14.Sal Tovella
15.Bay Darnell
16.Ed Kozbiel
17.Ralph Trumbull
18.Ted Hane
19.Leo Drollinger
20.Don Arnold
21.John Rostek
22.Don Schisler
23.Eddie Meyer
24.A.J. Foyt
25.Bob Christie
26.Gary Bettenhausen
27.Jim McElreath
28.Len Sutton
29.Lloyd Ruby
30.Johnny Rutherford

No comments:

Post a Comment