Tuesday, July 4, 2023

1969 – Woodside Wins Boone Supers

Jay Woodside

Boone, Iowa (July 4, 1969) - Jay Woodside, Kansas City, Mo., won the 40-lap super modified feature at the Boone Speedway Friday night before 3,500 fans.

Woodside took the lead on the 25th lap from Ray Lee Goodwin of Kansas City, the defending Knoxville National Champion, then lost the lead on lap 30 to Goodwin as the two battled back and forth.

Finally, on the 35th lap, Woodside moved around Goodwin when the champion spun out in the fourth corner allowing Jay to slip by and go on to win the race and $500 in first-place money. 

Goodwin set fast time in time trials, touring the 3/8-mile in 16.50 seconds. Jerry Blundy, Galesburg, Ill., took second and Ottumwa, Iowa’s Johnny Babb third.

Earl Wagner, Pleasantville, Iowa, won the 10-lap trophy dash, Ralph Blackett, Des Moines took second and Ray Lee Goodwin picked up third.

The first heat winner was Whitey Harmen, White Springs, Mo., with runner up Terry Hurst, Davenport and Burt Sonner, Des Moines.

In the second heat Jay Woodside was the winner. He was followed by Ray Lee Goodwin and Johnny Babb, Earl Wagner and Frank Coleman.

Ralph Blackett, Des Moines, won the third heat with Johnny Johnson, Kansas City, Mo., second Dale McCarty, Kansas City third and Curtis Rouge, Ames, fourth.

The B-main was picked up by Bruce Sommerfeld, Fort Dodge, with Dick Forbrook, Morgan, Minn., second.

Results –

1. Jay Woodside, Kansas City
2. Ray Lee Goodwin, Kansas City
3. Whitey Harman, White Springs, Mo.
4. Earl Wagner, Pleasantville
5. Ron Larson, White Bear Lake, Minn.
6. Johnny Babb, Ottumwa
7. Jerry Blundy, Galesburg, Ill.
8. Ralph Blackett, Des Moines
9. Dale McCarty, Kansas City
10.Burt Sonner, Des Moines

No comments:

Post a Comment