Sunday, April 1, 2018

1989 - Taylor tops UMP main at Macon


Macon, Ill. (April 1, 1989) – The Mighty Macon Speedway entered its 44th season Saturday with an excellent crowd on hand and a good field of cars, despite the chilly weather.

After a pair of cautions at the start of the UMP late model feature, Rick Standridge opened up a slight advantage over Dick Taylor at the drop of the green. Taylor poured it on, closing the gap and finally overtaking Standridge on lap 6 for the lead that he would never relinquish as he went on to victory capturing the 25-lap main event. He was followed by a had-charging Glenn Bradley, Tom Reints, Standridge and Jim Rarick.

The IMCA modifieds joined the racing program this season for the season for the first time along with the UMP late models, sportsman and bomber divisions, making it the first new class in 10 years.

Jack Dowers was in the spotlight, setting an official IMCA modified rack record in qualifying at 13.313 seconds.
Al Crawley posted his first IMCA modified main event win after passing early leader Don Kiger on the fifth circuit.

Dennis VanderMeersch made it look easy driving his multi-colored #25 to victory leading every lap of the 15-lap sportsman feature.  

The bomber feature saw Jeff Winters capitalize on a couple of early accidents to win the 10-lap event.

Results –

UMP Late Models


  1. Dick Taylor
  2. Glenn Bradley
  3. Tom Reints
  4. Rick Standridge
  5. Jim Rarick
  6. Tom Donelan
  7. Dan Mahnke
  8. Bill Prietzel
  9. Mike Mudd
  10. Butch Garner

IMCA Modifieds

  1. Al Crawley
  2. Jerry Johnston
  3. Don Kiger
  4. Rick Crawford
  5. Tom Bennett
  6. Larry Rogers
  7. Al Baker
  8. Lance Dehm
  9. Jack Dowers
  10. Phil Hennington


  1. Dennis VanderMeersch
  2. Dave Smith
  3. Bruce Lessen
  4. Sid Lill
  5. Jerry Myers
  6. Ric Trulock
  7. Pat O’ Dell
  8. Tom Graham
  9. Scott Polen

No comments:

Post a Comment