Friday, April 20, 2018

1975 - Howe Wins Louisville ASA 100-Lapper

Louisville, Ky. (April 20, 1975) - Ed Howe, of Beaverton, Mich., battled with early race leader, Carl Smith, of West Jefferson, Ohio, until lap 44 of the 100-lap American Speed Association (ASA) “Circuit of Champions” Series event at Fairgrounds Motor Speedway, Sunday, then went into the lead to win the race by nearly half a lap on the third-mile paved track.

Smith utilized his front row starting position to take an intermediate lead in the feature event but had to battle a determined Moose Myers, of Fort Wayne, Ind., who ran side-by-side with the leader until being trapped behind a slower car and forced into the infield on lap 35. Myers quickly recovered but Howe, lurking in third, capitalized on the situation to take second behind Smith.

Although Smith artfully played slower traffic to his advantage to keep the faster Howe behind him, and open race track had at lap 44 allowed Howe to race by for the lead.

Myers maintained third position behind Smith until a tangle developed as he lapped Mickey Flora on lap 77. Myers spun into the infield and Bill Kimmel advanced to the third spot before Myers could recover.

Kimmel, a former late model champion at the Louisville track, mounted a late race charge against Smith for second position but was a car length short at the completion of 100 laps. Trailing Howe, Smith and Kimmel was Myers in fourth, with Billy Howell, of Louisville, in fifth.

In qualifications, Howe carded fast time but NASCAR veteran Charlie Glotzbach of Georgetown, Ind., was second fastest, just a tenth of a second back. Glotzbach was sidelined by a blown engine in his heat race.


Results -

1.  Ed Howe
2.  Carl Smith
3.  Bill Kimmel
4.  Moose Myers
5.  Billy Howell
6.  Robin Schildknecht
7.  Dave Sorg
8.  Joe Wormcastle
9.  Don Keevin
10.  Jim Hines
11.  Shorty Hinshaw
12.  Ellis Herbert
13.  La Marr Marshall
14.  Harold Scott
15.  Denny Miles
16.  Mickey Flora
17.  Danny Acrey
18.  Larry Clemons
19.  Clyde Brown
20.  Gene Prosser
21.  Jim Robinson
22.  Bobby Watson
23.  Mike Eddy
24.  Luther Reed

No comments:

Post a Comment