Thursday, July 7, 2016

1971 – Bowsher Posts Third Toledo ARCA Victory

Tom Bowsher
Toledo, Ohio (July 7, 1971) - Tom Bowsher posted his third consecutive Toledo Speedway ARCA national championship stock car division victory Sunday night, taking the 100-lap main event on the high banks. Tom also move closer to the lead in the ARCA point standings.

Bowsher, driving a 1971 Ford, took the lead on the first lap and was never headed. Tom took the checkered flag with a comfortable lead over runner-up Dave Dayton in 1969 Ford. Ramo Stott in 1971 Plymouth; A. Arnold in 1971 Camaro; Iggy Katona in a 1970 Dodge; and Mike Flora in 1970 Plymouth; were third through sixth, a lap behind Bowsher.

Ron Grana battled with Bowsher in the early going with Bowsher pulling away after about 25 laps. Grana, in his 1970 Chevelle, continue to run second until a minor shunt pushed his right front fender against the tire. Grana pitted for a tire on lap 85 and lost nearly four laps. He finished 11th, four laps behind Bowsher.

Results –

1.    Tom Bowsher
2.    Dave Dayton
3.    Ramo Stott
4.    A. Arnold
5.    Iggy Katona
6.    Mike Flora
7.    Keith Ploughe
8.    John Sellers
9.    Cliff Hamm
10. Dave Kulmer
11.  Ron Grana
12. N.D. Copley
13. Ed Richardville
14.  Frank Sandolin
15.  John Early
16.  Danny Dean
17.  Kenny Black
18.   Larry Ashley
19.   Leroy Austin
20.  Bill Clemons
21.  Andy Hampton
22.  Bill Jackson
23.  Bobby Junior
24.  Harold Fair
25. Jim Albrecht
26.  Bob Thomas
27.  Bob McCoy

No comments:

Post a Comment