Monday, September 28, 2015

1958 – Tape check spoils Derr’s victory at the Downs’

Cedar Rapids, Iowa (September 28, 1958) - Don White won the Midwest’s final IMCA late model stock car event of the season at Hawkeye Downs Sunday, but not until a check of the official lap sheet showed a pit stop hadn't cost the Keokuk Komet the lead.

The championship trophy in the 200-lap event had already been presented to White's brother-in-law, Ernie Derr, also of Keokuk, when IMCA officials discovered White was the actual winner.

The mix-up was a result of White’s hurried pit stop on the 60th lap for gas. Promoter Frank Winkley thought Derr passed White while a field of 30 cars was on a caution flag.

Actually White held nearly a full lap lead when he pulled into the pit and he returned to the track before Derr could complete another lap. So unknown to most of the 8,500 fans in attendance, White was adding to his lead in the final 140 laps in the two-man fight.

Derr went the full 200 laps without a stop.

The IMCA point leader also got credit for a new world’s record for 100 miles. The clock caught Derr in 1 hour 33 minutes and one second, slightly under the 1957 mark of 1 hour, 33 minutes and 24 seconds established by Johnny Beauchamp at Hawkeye Downs. White will be given the 2nd place time as a new record although he had to run nearly 20 seconds ahead of it with a three-quarters lap lead at the finish.

White's 1958 Ford never trailed after starting from the pole position with the top time trial of 26.53 seconds.

Results –

1. Don White, Keokuk, Iowa
2. Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
3. Frank Lies, Wichita, Kan.
4. Lennie Funk, Otis, Kan.,
5. Larry Odo, Chicago, Ill.
6. Sonny Gross, Quincy, Ill.
7. Whitey Treador, Milwaukee, Wis.
8. Vince Rizzo, Chicago, Ill.
9. Bob Hilmer, Dysart, Iowa
10. Ramo Stott, Keokuk, Iowa
11. Frank Richards, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
12. Darwin Smith, Keokuk, Iowa
13. Art Brady, Peoria, Ill.
14. Don Lewis, King, Wis.
15. Jack Leverenz, Lakefield, Minn.
16. Doc Narber, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
17. Jim Schaefer, St. Paul, Minn.
18. Ralph Wilhelm, Milwaukee, Wis.
19. Lou Fegers, Glenview, Ill.
20. Murray Folson, Mechanicsville, Iowa
21. Mert Williams, Rochester, Minn.
22. Bob Potter, Duluth, Minn.
23. Dick Santee, Bellflower, Calif.
24. Newt Bartholomew, Carlisle, Iowa
25. Carl Olson, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa
26. Bruce Nystrom, Oshkosh, Wis.
27. Herb Shannon, Peoria, Ill.
28. Bill Zwanziger, Waterloo, Iowa
29. Bob Burdick, Omaha, Neb.
30. Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment