Tuesday, April 22, 2014

1973 Sorg Handily Takes Louisville ASA

Louisville, Ky. (April 22, 1973) - Dave Sorg, driving a 1972 Chevelle, handily won round two of the American Speed Association “Circuit of Champions” late model stock car series Sunday at Fairgrounds Motor Speedway here, expertly fending off repeated challenges from a stellar field in the 100 lap feature event.

Carl Smith was second, with Tommy Spaugh third. For Sorg, the victory was especially sweet, as he was disqualified for weight violation after finishing second in an ARCA event at the same track two weeks ago. Under the lighter, 8 pounds per cubic inch ASA regulations, however, Sorg’s victory easily withstood a post race week check.

Defending ASA champion, Denny Miles, jumped into the lead from his pole position in the main event and enjoyed a comfortable straightaway lead until the record-breaking 100 lapper’s only caution flag appeared on lap 17, necessitated by a first turn entanglement between Carl Elwanger and Ellis Herbert.

On the resumption of racing speed on lap 20, Miles became the target of intense attack by veteran Bill Kimmel and Carl Smith. Into dense slower traffic, both Kimmel and Smith passed on lap 25 two dump Miles into third position.

Kimmel seemed destined for a fast ride at the front of the pack until he was overhauled by a determined Smith on lap 36. Smith had but a short tenure at the head of the train, however, as Sorg swiftly annexed Kimmel at 39 laps and got under Smith for the lead on lap 47.

Spectacularly moving through traffic by half distance were Larry Moore and Moose Meyers. Moore, thrusting forward from 22nd starting spot, had climbed to eighth position before his 1971 Ford overheated on lap 69. Meyers, charging hard in the back of the pack, moved into the top five by lap 70.

Sorg was firmly in command by the 70 lap mark, but a furious battle raged between Kimmel and Smith for second spot. Spaugh, driving an inspired race, mounted a charge by lap 80 and sailed past Kimmel for third on lap 87.

At the finish, Sorg maintained a straightaway length lead on the third-mile circuit over second-place man, Smith. Spaugh claimed a well-earned third, nipping by Kimmel, in fourth, and Moose Meyers earned the most cars past award, claiming fifth after clawing his way from 21st starting position.

Sorg, in taking a main event, said new track record for distance of 27 minutes, 37.17 seconds. Heat race wins were claimed, in order, by Darwin Blankenship, Herb Rose, Carl Elwanger and Miles. Kimmel dominated the trophy dash and Meyers earned his feature race starting birth by winning the consolation race.

Results -

  1. Dave Sorg
  2. Carl Smith
  3. Tommy Spaugh
  4. Bill Kimmel
  5. Moose Meyers
  6. John Sommerville
  7. Bud Toohey
  8. Jerry Norris
  9. Shorty Hinshaw
  10. Willard Googe
  11. Joe Doty
  12. Frank Dewboys
  13. Bob Goodfliesch
  14. Jack Johnson
  15. Carl Elwanger
  16. Denny Miles
  17. Larry Moore
  18. Darrell Basham
  19. Vern Schrock
  20. Gene Christie
  21. Joe Vincent
  22. Billy Howe
  23. J. Robinson
  24. Ellis Herbert

No comments:

Post a Comment