Friday, June 10, 2016

1961 - Four Indy Drivers at Dayton

Eddie Sachs

Dayton, Ohio (June 10, 1961) - Eddie Sachs, the driver who lost the Indianapolis 500 this year by a mere eight seconds because of worn tires, leads a brilliant field of drivers for the 200-lap USAC late model championship Sunday, June 11 at the Dayton Speedway.

Sachs is no stranger to the Dayton high banks but this marks his initial appearance as a late model stock driver. Sachs is a veteran of five Indianapolis races, having held the pole position for the past two years. He finished 12th in the USAC national standings last year and was the 195S USAC Midwest spring champion after finishing second in both 1954 and 1955.

Other Indianapolis 500 drivers who will be on hand include Dick Rathman, a veteran of seven races; Paul Goldsmith, who finished second last year in the USAC late model stock standings and who won an earlier USAC late model event at the Dayton Speedway; and Bill Cheesbourg.

Lefty McFadden, Dayton Speedway manager, said time trials will start at 1:30 p.m. Saturday.

Other early entries include Don White of Keokuk, Iowa, Elmer Musgrave of Miles., Ill., Skip Michaels of Berwyn, Ill., Arnie Gardner of Batavia, Ill., Bill Shoulders and Lou Kamie, both of Waukegan, Ill., Gene Marmor of Schiller Park, Ill., Ken Finley of Summit, Ill., Dick Clement and Sal Tovella, both of Chicago; Les Snow of Bloomington, Ill., Don Swenson of West Chicago, Herb Shannon of Peoria, Jack Holbrook of Melrose Park., Ill., and Eddie Meyer of Glenview, Mich.

Sunday’s program will open at noon with time trials for late arrivals and the first heat race at 2 p.m. Admission Sunday is $3.50 reserved; $2.50 grandstand, and 50 cents for children.

No comments:

Post a Comment