Friday, June 7, 2024

1986 - Top Honors to Wateski in Dells Nabbefeldt Go

Rick Wateski won the second 55-lap feature and the overall title at the Lyle Nabbefeldt Memorial Classic at Dells Motor Speedway. - Kurt Luoma Photo

Wisconsin Dells, Wis. (June 7, 1986) – Rick Wateski won the second of two 55-lap late model features contest Saturday night at Dells Motor Speedway to claim the championship in the 11th annual Lyle Nabbefeldt Memorial Classic.

Dick Trickle won the first 55-lap event, but according to the race’s scoring system determined by the Nabbefeldt family, the winner of the second feature gains possession of the five-foot-tall Lyle Nabbefeldt Memorial traveling trophy.

In the first feature, George Prziborowski held the early lead of the race, but Dick Trickle worked his way to the front to take command of the contest on lap 29. Trickle would hold off Steve Holzhausen in the late stages to take the win. Rich Bickle Jr. placed third, followed by Bill Oas and Tom Reffner.

In the second feature, Steve Carlson paced the first 39 laps before Wateski took over. Trickle moved into second on lap 47 and began to close in on Wateski. However, Wateski was able to maintain a slight edge over Trickle to take the checkered. Carlson nabbed third ahead of Reffner and Tony Strupp.

Results –

Feature #1 –

1. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids
2. Steve Holzhausen, Bangor
3. Rich Bickle Jr., Edgerton
4. Bill Oas, St. Paul, Minn.
5. Tom Reffner, Rudolph
6. Tom Musgrave, Half Day, Ill.

Feature #2 –

1. Rick Wateski, La Crosse
2. Dick Trickle
3. Steve Carlson, West Salem
4. Tom Reffner
5. Tony Strupp, Slinger
6. Bill Oas

No comments:

Post a Comment