Sunday, June 16, 2024

1976 – Tucker Tops Alta Race Days

Kent Tucker is presented his trophy by Ms. Alta Race Days after winning the 30-lap “A” feature for late models at the second annual Alta Race Days at Buena Vista County Speedway. Flagman Larry Cook presents the checkers. 

Alta, Iowa (June 16, 1976) – Kent Tucker of Aurora, Neb., won the 30-lap late model feature at the second annual Alta Race Days at Buena Vista County Speedway on Wednesday night.

Tucker fought off persistent challenges from Bob Kosiski of Omaha throughout the main event to collect $900. He earned $600 for the victory and another $300 in lap money for leading start to finish. Tucker also won his heat race and the trophy dash.

Defending race champion Bill Rice of Des Moines was hampered with engine problems and finished seventh.

The $4,000 late model special lured some of the top drivers in the Midwest. Those “big city” drivers overshadowed most of the weekly competitors with Estherville’s Bob Shryock the only driver to finish in the top five.

Shryock, in fact, helped fuel the exciting main event pushing Tucker and Kosiski to the very end before settling for third. Nearly all of the 20 cars were on the same lap when the checkered flag flew. Weekly racer Bill Christman of Bronson had been running third for most of the race before a spinout wrecked any chance of a top finish.

Ed Morris of Council Bluffs, Kosiski, Tucker, and Christman were heat winners with Tucker winning the trophy dash. Arnie Braland of Boone won the “B” feature.

Larry Pepper of Storm Lake won the roadrunner feature, edging points leader Duane Miller of Manson.

Results –

1. Kent Tucker, Aurora, Neb.
2. Bob Kosiski, Omaha
3. Bob Shryock. Estherville
4. Ed Morris, Council Bluffs
5. George Barton, Ankeny
6. Fred Knapp, Des Moines
7. Bill Rice, Des Moines
8. Arnie Braland, Boone
9. Denny Sherrill, Sioux City
10.Jerry Holtkamp, Williams

No comments:

Post a Comment