Sunday, June 2, 2024

1984 – Senneker Tops Springfield ‘Silver Creek 250’

Bob Senneker won the American Speed Association’s Sliver Creek 250 at Ozark Empire Fairgrounds Speedway. Bobby Batson of Silver Creek, the series’ sponsor, makes the trophy presentation. – Don Thies Photo

Springfield, Mo. (June 2, 1984) – Despite five challengers gathering at his back bumper during late-race cautions, Bob Senneker won the ‘Silver Creek 250’ ASA Silver Creek Series stock car race at Ozark Empire Fairgrounds Speedway by less than one second over Dick Trickle.

Under a blanket after 250 laps around the .525-mile track were Mike Eddy, Alan Kulwicki, Mark Martin and Jim Sauter, finishing third through sixth.

Senneker credited his victory to making a single pit stop and tire change while all of his lead-lap pursuers elected to make a second tire change during a caution with 50 lap to go.

The $6,320 win marked the 49th career American Speed Association victory in 137 starts for Senneker, a phenomenal 35.8% winning percentage that in unmatched in motorsports.

In his customary style, Senneker was content with staying in fifth or sixth position early in the race, then making a charge after the first pit stop cycle.

Mike Eddy charged from his outside front row starting spot to lead the race, beating polesitter Butch Miller into the first turn.

Miller, who set a new one-lap track record with a 20.174 second clocking on the wide .525-mile oval during qualifying, saw his race evaporate with ignition ills after only 18 circuits.

Kulwicki hounded Eddy persistently until taking over the lead at 93 laps.

An accident brought out the caution on lap 106 and virtually the entire field headed pitside for their first stop.

First out of the pits to take the lead on lap 107 was Trickle, who led a pack consisting of Martin, Eddy, Senneker, Sauter and Kulwicki when green flag racing resumed at lap 110.

Senneker picked off his opposition calmly, finally advancing to the second spot behind Trickle at lap 161, then going for the lead five laps later.

Another caution at lap 196 signaled a last-ditch try by pursuers of Senneker to bolt on new rubber and try to run him down, with Trickle, Eddy, Kulwicki and Martin all opting to gamble.

Sauter, like Senneker, elected to stay out and was a solid second working the leader’s back bumper when he had a slow-leaker forcing him to pit during another caution 10 laps later.

Two cautions for minor spins during the final 40 circuits allowed the lead-lap pack to close on Senneker but none could take the measure of his Pontiac Firebird.

Results –

1. Bob Senneker
2. Dick Trickle
3. Mike Eddy
4. Alan Kulwicki
5. Mark Martin
6. Jim Sauter
7. Bobby Dotter
8. Harold Fair
9. Doug Klein
10.Jay Sauter
11.Tom Harrington
12.Mutt Kurkowski
13.Tom Jones
14.Don Moon
15.Dave Jensen
16.Russ Phillips
17.Don Collins
18.Jeff Schwister
19.Dennis Vogel
20.Dave Simko
21.Don Ely
22.Ken Lund
23.Dennis Lampman
24.Bruce Jeffers
25.Ken Christenson
26.Don Gregory
27.Ed Evans
28.Mark Malcuit
29.Butch Miller
30.Kevin MacKenzie

No comments:

Post a Comment