Wednesday, June 19, 2024

1977 - Detjens Holds Off Trickle in Grundy ARTGO

ARTGO Racing's Art Frigo presents the trophy to Larry Detjens after the Wausau driver won the 100-lap late model feature at Grundy County. 

Morris, Ill. (June 19, 1977) – Larry Detjens of Wausau, Wis., withstood a frantic last-lap challenge from Dick Trickle of Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., and Bob Senneker of Dorr, Mich., to win the ARTGO-promoted 100-lap Father’s Day Classic for late models at the Grundy County Speedway on Sunday evening.

The stage was set for the close finish on lap 92 when Woody Church’s Mustang blew as he raced through turn one. Church spun in the oil spewing from his engine and then smashed into the pit wall. Both Trickle and Ed Hoffman also skidded into the wall in the ensuing chain reaction mishap which brought out the red flag.

When action resumed, Detjens, Trickle, Senneker, Jerry Kemperman and Joe Shear, running first through fifth, respectively, were tightly bunched. However, shortly after the resumption of the race, Ed Hoffman spun in turn two, bringing out the yellow flag.

When the green came back out again for the final time, Detjens, Trickle, and Senneker pulled away from the rest of the field, with Trickle inching ahead of Detjens with two laps remaining.

However, Detjens retaliated moments later to establish a narrow lead which he made stand up to the finish. Trickle settled for second with Senneker right behind in third.

Kemperman, who was running second on lap 93, collected fourth place money and Shear, who set a new track record in time trials, took fifth.

Earlier in the program, Larry Schuler won the 50-lap feature for odd-numbered qualifiers over Senneker, Kemperman, Shear and Larry Phillips of Springfield, Mo.

Dick Trickle won the 50-lap feature for even-numbered qualifiers over Detjens, Mike Miller, Gary Hemmerling, and Hoffman.

Results –

1. Larry Detjens, Wausau, Wis.
2. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
3. Bob Senneker, Dorr, Mich.
4. Jerry Kemperman, Blue Island, Ill.
5. Joe Shear, South Beloit, Ill.
6. Bob Strait, Flossmoor, Ill.
7. Gary Hemmerling, Beloit, Wis.
8. Tom Jones, Northbrook, Ill.
9. Mike Miller, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
10.Tony Izzo, Bridgeview, Ill.

No comments:

Post a Comment